Study series: COVID-19 and social inequality

Publication of a large-scale survey series in cooperation with the University of Konstanz

With these surveys, the University of Konstanz and Das Progressive Zentrum are contributing to a better understanding of the social and political consequences of the Corona crisis. In the studies, the researchers analyze the topics of solidarity with European neighbors, working from home, trust in politics, crisis management and the health care system.

The cooperation between the DPZ and the Cluster of Excellence at the University of Konstanz aims to develop recommendations for decision-makers in business and politics on how to counter social inequality in Germany and Europe based on scientific findings. The first contribution was  four policy papers published as part of a large-scale survey series conducted by the Konstanzer Exzellenzclusters „The Politics of Inequality“.

Debated issue of EU bonds: Will Germany show solidarity? Yes, but… 

The study entitled “Beds or Bonds? Conditional Solidarity in the coronavirus crisis” by Sebastian Koos, Junior Professor for Corporate Social Responsibility at the University of Konstanz and Dirk Leuffen,

Professor of Political Science with a focus on International Politics at the University of Konstanz examines to what extent and in what ways Europeans are prepared to support each other during the corona pandemic. The policy brief included a survey among residents in Germany that paints a mixed picture: While the willingness to show solidarity with medical supplies or medical assistance is high, there is only a limited willingness to support financial redistribution measures.

DER SPIEGEL calls the survey results “explosive” because they show that the federal government must continue to solicit approval for its crisis management policy. The editor David Böcking summarizes:

If the debate focuses solely on costs, this reduces the willingness to help, the researchers write. The medium and long-term interests of the donor side in aid should also be addressed.

– David Böcking, editor at DER SPIEGEL

In the debate magazine Social Europe the authors summarize the core results:

[The study] shows that European solidarity is conditional. Specifically, it depends on the type of need, the cost of help and, ultimately, on the perceived ‘deservingness’ of recipients.

Productive, motivated – but also partly exhausted: This is how employees see themselves in the homeoffice

For the second paper, “Working from home in the Corona-virus crisis – Towards a transformation of work environments?“, Florian Kunze, Professor of Organizational Studies at the University of Konstanz, and two of his research assistants Kilian Hampel and Sophia Zimmermann interviewed around 700 homeoffice employees several times between March and May 2020. 

Most of them stated that they perceived themselves as “motivated and productive” and that they were able to better balance work and private life. Compared to a group of “fully convinced” – one in four people could do without an office visit altogether – there are many who experienced loneliness and social isolation as well as emotional exhaustion.

Many media outlets reported on this study, including the Süddeutsche Zeitung, which summarized that the “desired model for many of those surveyed was a balanced mixture of home office and office visits”. 

Corona Restrictions: Who wants to lift them and why?

Those who call for an easing of pandemic-related restrictions often do so out of concern for society – or out of distrust of the state, as the third study by the University of Konstanz with Das Progressive Zentrum shows: “End the lockdown? Why restrictions are being lifted too fast for some and not fast enough for others“. Prof. Dr. Claudia Diehl, Professor of Microsociology at the University of Konstanz and co-speaker of the Cluster of Excellence “The Politics of Inequality”, and her research assistant Dr. Felix Wolter, asked around 4,800 people about their personal attitude towards Corona measures and possible loosening of the lockdown.

The results show that trust is more important than self-interest. The attitude towards easing pandemic-related restrictions is primarily determined by the extent to which the respondents perceive restrictions of basic rights – and less by whether someone fears economic or family consequences for themselves or society. The main issue is therefore trust in state institutions.

The Süddeutsche Zeitung and Die Welt, among others, took up the study:

Clear crisis communication is crucial for politics. […] In addition, the explanation of the corresponding cause-and-effect relationships [of governmental decisions and crisis Pandemic development] is central.

A question of polarisation: Who distrusts the health care system and the government? 

Das zuletzt erschienene Paper “Heilmittel oder Zankapfel? Vertrauen in das Gesundheitssystem während der Corona-Krise” untersucht die Wahrnehmungen der BürgerInnen zur Leistungsfähigkeit und Fairness des Gesundheitssystems und wie sehr die BürgerInnen dem Gesundheitssystem und dem Staat vertrauen.

The most recently published paper “Source of healing or bone of contention? Trust in the German healthcare system during the coronavirus crisis” examines citizens’ perceptions of the efficiency and fairness of the healthcare system and how much citizens trust the health care system and the state.

The answers are provided by Prof. Dr. Marius R. Busemeyer, political scientist and expert in social policy research. He says that party affiliation is crucial in the assessment of citizens. People who are close to the “Alternative for Germany” (AfD) distrust the health care system and the information policy of the federal government far more often than people with a different political party orientation. Gender, income, age and level of education of those surveyed also play a role, albeit a lesser one. The study reveals a polarisation between a distrustful and dissatisfied minority and the majority of the rest of the population.

Media such as n-tv.de reported that there is “dissatisfaction” with the Federal Government’s information policy and that “only 48.2 percent” believe that the “Federal Government has informed ‘quite’ or ‘very truthfully’”. The Redaktionsnetzwerk Deutschland writes:

Overall, a majority of those surveyed believe that the government was poorly prepared for the pandemic.


Autoren

Florian Ranft

Member of the Management Board and Head of Green New Deal
Florian Ranft is Member of the Management Board and Head of Programme Economic and Social Transformation and focuses on inclusive growth and the future of work. In previous capacities, he was Head of Policy and International at Policy Network, and a former Senior Research Analyst at the Centre for Progressive Policy, both think tanks based in London.

Vincent Venus

Head of Strategic Communication
Vincent Venus was head of communications at Das Progressive Zentrum and thus responsible for communication channels, editorial work and committee coordination.

Further articles

The Progressive Governance Summit - press review

Media around the world have reported on the Progressive Governance Summit in Berlin.

Joining Forces in Times of Crises

Progressive politics and authoritarianism abroad and at home
This image was AI-generated by Das Progressive Zentrum, using the DALL-E 2 Image Generator by OpenAI.

The Left’s Fatal Longing for Life as Usual

Why our failure to resist Putin enthusiastically will haunt us and how we can overcome it.
share:

Europa & die Welt

“COVID-19 und soziale Ungleichheit – Thesen und Befunde”

Publikationsreihe mit dem Exzellenzcluster “The Politics of Inequality” an der Universität Konstanz


Welche sozialen und politischen Folgen hat die Corona-Krise? Dieser Frage geht ein großangelegtes Umfrage-Programm der Universität Konstanz nach. Das Progressive Zentrum begleitet die Aufbereitung und Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse samt Handlungsempfehlungen in mehreren Policy Briefs.


Die Kooperation zwischen dem Progressiven Zentrum und dem Exellenzcluster der Uni Konstanz hat das Ziel auf Grundlage wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse Handlungsempfehlungen für EntscheidungsträgerInnen in Wirtschaft und Politik zu entwickeln, wie sozialer Ungleichheit in Deutschland und Europa begegnet werden kann. Für einen ersten Impuls wurden vier Policy Papers veröffentlicht, die auf einem großangelegten Umfragen-Programm des Konstanzer Exzellenzclusters „The Politics of Inequality“ beruhen.

Streitpunkt EU-Anleihen: Sind die Deutschen solidarisch? Ja, aber!

Die Studie mit dem Titel “Betten oder Bonds? Konditionale Solidarität in der Corona-Krise” von Sebastian Koos, Juniorprofessor für Corporate Social Responsibility an der Universität Konstanz und Dirk Leuffen, Professor für Politikwissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt Internationale Politik an der Universität Konstanz untersucht in welchem Ausmaß und auf welche Weise die EuropäerInnen bereit sind, sich gegenseitig in der Corona-Pandemie zu unterstützen. Das Policy Brief samt Umfrage unter der deutschen Wohnbevölkerung zeichnet ein gemischtes Bild: Während die Bereitschaft zu medizinischer Solidarität hoch ist, zeigt sich nur eine begrenzte Bereitschaft zur Unterstützung finanzieller Umverteilungsmaßnahmen.

DER SPIEGEL nennt die Umfrageergebnisse “brisant”, weil sie zeigen würden, dass die Bundesregierung weiterhin um Zustimmung für ihre Krisenpolitik werben müsse. Der Redakteur David Böcking fasst zusammen:

„Konzentriere sich die Debatte allein auf Kosten, so reduziere dies die Hilfsbereitschaft, schreiben die Forscher. Auch die mittel- und langfristigen Interessen der Geberseite an den Hilfen sollten thematisiert werden.

Im Debattenmagazin Social Europe fassen die Autoren das Kernergebnis ihrer Studie zusammen:

„[The study] shows that European solidarity is conditional. Specifically, it depends on the type of need, the cost of help and, ultimately, on the perceived ‘deservingness’ of recipients.

Produktiv, motiviert – aber auch teilweise erschöpft: So sehen sich Beschäftigte im Homeoffice

Für das zweite Paper “Homeoffice in der Corona-Krise – eine nachhaltige Transformation der Arbeitswelt?” befragten Florian Kunze, Professor für Organizational Studies an der Universität Konstanz sowie zwei seiner wissenschaftliche MitarbeiterInnen Kilian Hampel und Sophia Zimmermann über verschiedene Zeitpunkte hinweg rund 700 Beschäftigte im Home-Office. 

Die meisten gaben an, sich als “motiviert und produktiv” wahrzunehmen und Beruf und Privatleben besser vereinbaren zu können. Gegenüber einer Gruppe von “Vollüberzeugten” – jede vierte Person könne ganz auf den Bürobesuch verzichten – stehen vielen, die Einsamkeit und soziale Isolation sowie emotionale Erschöpfung erlebten.

Viele Medien berichteten über diese Studie, unter anderem die Süddeutsche Zeitung, die zusammengefasst hat, dass das “Wunschmodell bei vielen Befragten eine ausbalancierte Mischung aus Homeoffice und Präsenztätigkeit” sei.

Corona-Regeln: Wer will sie aufheben und warum?

Wer Lockerungen fordert, tut das oft aus Sorge um die Gesellschaft – oder aus Misstrauen gegen den Staat, zeigt die dritte Studie der Universität Konstanz mit dem Progressiven Zentrum: “Raus aus dem Lockdown? Warum es manchen zu schnell und anderen nicht schnell genug geht”. Prof. Dr. Claudia Diehl, Professorin für Mikrosoziologie an der Universität Konstanz und Co-Sprecherin des Exzellenzcluster „The Politics of Inequality“, und ihr wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter Dr. Felix Wolter, befragten rund 4.800 Personen zu ihrer persönlichen Einstellung gegenüber den Corona-Maßnahmen und möglichen Lockerungen.

 

Es zeigt sich: Vertrauen ist wichtiger als Eigeninteresse. Die Haltung zur Lockerung pandemiebedingter Einschränkungen wird vor allem dadurch bestimmt inwiefern die Befragten Grundrechtseinschränkungen wahrnehmen – und weniger, ob jemand wirtschaftliche oder familiäre Folgen für sich selbst oder die Gesellschaft befürchtet. Es geht es also vor allem um das Vertrauen in staatliche Institutionen.

Unter anderem die Süddeutsche Zeitung und Die Welt griffen eine Meldung der Deutschen Presseagentur zur Studie auf:

“Entscheidend für die Politik sei eine klare Krisenkommunikation. […] Zentral sei zudem die Aufklärung über die entsprechenden Ursache-Wirkung-Zusammenhänge.

Eine Frage der Polarisierung: Wer misstraut dem Gesundheitssystem und der Regierung?

Das zuletzt erschienene Paper “Heilmittel oder Zankapfel? Vertrauen in das Gesundheitssystem während der Corona-Krise” untersucht die Wahrnehmungen der BürgerInnen zur Leistungsfähigkeit und Fairness des Gesundheitssystems und wie sehr die BürgerInnen dem Gesundheitssystem und dem Staat vertrauen.

Antworten liefert Prof. Dr. Marius R. Busemeyer, Politikwissenschaftler und Experte für Sozialpolitikforschung. Die Parteinähe sei bei der Einschätzung der BürgerInnen entscheidend. Wer der “Alternative für Deutschland” (AfD) nahe stehe, misstraut dem Gesundheitssystem und der Informationspolitik der Bundesregierung weitaus häufiger als Menschen mit anderer parteipolitischer Ausrichtung. Geschlecht, Einkommen, Alter und Bildungsstand der Befragten spielen ebenfalls eine – wenn auch geringere – Rolle. Die Studie belege eine Polarisierung zwischen einer misstrauisch-unzufriedenen Minderheit und dem mehrheitlichen Rest der Bevölkerung.

 

Medien wie n-tv.de berichten, dass über die Informationspolitik der Bundesregierung “Unzufriedenheit herrsche” und “lediglich 48,2 Prozent” der Meinung seien, dass die “Bundesregierung ‘ziemlich’ oder ‘sehr wahrheitsgetreu’ informiert habe”. Das Redaktionsnetzwerk Deutschland schreibt:

“Insgesamt vertritt eine Mehrheit der Befragten die Meinung, die Regierung sei schlecht auf die Pandemie vorbereitet gewesen.


Presse

Bei Fragen zu dieser Publikationsreihe und Vermittlung zu den ExpertInnen unterstützt Sie gerne

 

Vincent Venus
Leiter der Kommunikation

Tel: 030 39405543
Mail: kommunikation@progressives-zentrum.org