Working from home in the Coronavirus crisis: Towards a transformation of work environments?

When working from home, most employees work longer and more productive than at the office, yet some suffer from emotional exhaustion and isolation

Summary

Most employees say that they work longer and more productively at home than in the office, yet some also suffer from loneliness and isolation. Nevertheless, a large proportion (56 percent) does not wish to return to full-time attendance; a majority of those surveyed would prefer to work from home two to three days a week. On the question of a legal right to mobile work, the population is divided. This is the result of a representative study by the Cluster of Excellence “The Politics of Inequality” at the University of Konstanz, published in cooperation with the think tank Das Progressive Zentrum.

The authors of the study, Prof. Dr. Florian KunzeKilian Hampel and Sophia Zimmermann, see a possible reason for the great support for working from home in the fact that the vast majority of those surveyed perceive themselves as motivated and productive in the home office. 45 percent even stated that they can work more effectively than in the office. Another reason for supporting mobile work could be the compatibility of work and private life. 70 percent of those surveyed stated that this is better handled in the home office – regardless of whether they have underage children to look after or not.

However, a large minority also reports serious disadvantages: One in five feels lonely and socially isolated in the home office. Also, almost one in six complains of emotional exhaustion. This stands in contrast with the fully convinced people: one in four would is willing to work without an office visit at all – and remain in home office entirely.

Main Findings

  • When working from home, most employees work longer and more productive than at the office, yet some suffer from emotional exhaustion and isolation. 
  • A majority of staff does not prefer to return to full-time in-office work: 56 percent of respondents would rather work from home at least some of the time.
  • Respondents are divided on supporting a statutory right to work from home.

Prof. Dr. Florian Kunze is Professor of Organizational Studies at the University of Konstanz and a member of the Cluster of Excellence “The Politics of Inequality”. He conducts research on generation management, digitalization in the work environment, successful leadership, and remote work at home.

Kilian Hampel is a research associate in the working group for Organizational Studies of Florian Kunze. His research focuses on the digital transformation of the world of work, management of demographic change, aging in the workplace, and the introduction of new forms of work.

Sophia Zimmermann is a research associate in Florian Kunze’s research group for Organizational Studies. Her research focuses on employee management, digitization in the world of work and demographic change.

This Policy Paper was published in cooperation with the cluster of excellence „The Politics of Inequality“ at the University of Konstanz together with the think tank Das Progressive Zentrum.

Authors

Florian Kunze ist Professor für Organizational Studies an der Universität Konstanz und Mitglied des Exzellenzclusters „The Politics of Inequality“. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Generationenmanagement, erfolgreiche Führung, Digitalisierung in der Arbeitswelt und erfolgreiches Arbeiten im Homeoffice.
Sophia Zimmermann ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Arbeitsgruppe für Organizational Studies von Florian Kunze. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Mitarbeiterführung, der Digitalisierung in der Arbeitswelt und des demographischen Wandels.
Kilian Hampel ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Arbeitsgruppe für Organizational Studies von Florian Kunze. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die digitale Transformation der Arbeitswelt, Management des demographischen Wandels, Alter(n) am Arbeitsplatz sowie die Einführung von neuen Arbeitsformen.

We develop and debate progressive ideas and bring together leading actors who turn thoughts into action. Our think tank’s goal: making the just transformation a reality. ▸ Learn more

Homeoffice in der Corona-Krise – eine nachhaltige Transformation der Arbeitswelt?

Eine Umfrage zur Beibehaltung des Arbeitens aus dem Home-Office

Zusammenfassung

Die meisten Beschäftigten arbeiten nach eigener Aussage im Homeoffice länger und produktiver als im Büro, einige leiden aber auch unter Vereinsamung und Isolation. Trotzdem wünscht sich ein Großteil (56 Prozent) keine Rückkehr zur Vollzeit-Präsenzpflicht, die Mehrheit der Befragten möchte am liebsten zwei bis drei Tage pro Woche von zu Hause aus arbeiten. Bei der Frage nach einem gesetzlichen Recht auf Homeoffice ist die arbeitende Bevölkerung gespalten. Das ist das Ergebnis einer repräsentativen Studie des Exzellenzclusters “The Politics of Inequality” an der Universität Konstanz, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Think-Tank Das Progressive Zentrum herausgegeben wird.

Eine mögliche Ursache für die große Unterstützung der Arbeit von Zuhause sehen die StudienautorInnen Prof. Florian KunzeKilian Hampel und Sophia Zimmermann darin, dass sich die allermeisten der Befragten im Homeoffice als motiviert und produktiv wahrnehmen – 45 Prozent gaben sogar an, effektiver als im Büro arbeiten zu können. Ein weiterer Grund für die Unterstützung des Homeoffice könnte die Vereinbarkeit von Arbeits- und Privatleben sein. 70 Prozent der Befragten bejahten die Aussage, dass dies im Homeoffice besser möglich sei  – unabhängig davon, ob sie minderjährige Kinder zu betreuen haben oder nicht.

Eine große Minderheit berichtet jedoch auch von schwerwiegenden Nachteilen: Jeder fünfte fühlt sich im Homeoffice einsam und sozial isoliert, knapp jeder sechste klagte über emotionale Erschöpfung. Demgegenüber steht die Gruppe der Vollüberzeugten: Jeder Vierte würde künftig ganz auf den Bürobesuch verzichten.

Zentrale Erkenntnisse der Umfrage

  • Die meisten Beschäftigten arbeiten nach eigener Aussage im Homeoffice länger und produktiver als im Büro, einige leiden aber auch unter Vereinsamung und Isolation.
  • Ein Großteil der Beschäftigten (56 Prozent) wünscht sich keine Rückkehr zur Vollzeit-Präsenzpflicht. Die Mehrheit der Befragten möchte am liebsten zwei bis drei Tage pro Woche von zu Hause aus arbeiten.
  • Bei der Frage nach einem gesetzlichen Recht auf Homeoffice ist die arbeitende Bevölkerung gespalten.

Dieses Policy Paper wurde in Kooperation mit dem Exzellenzcluster „The Politics of Inequality“ der Universität Konstanz zusammen mit dem Progressiven Zentrum veröffentlicht.

Autor:innen

Florian Kunze ist Professor für Organizational Studies an der Universität Konstanz und Mitglied des Exzellenzclusters „The Politics of Inequality“. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Generationenmanagement, erfolgreiche Führung, Digitalisierung in der Arbeitswelt und erfolgreiches Arbeiten im Homeoffice.

Sophia Zimmermann

Universität Konstanz
Sophia Zimmermann ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Arbeitsgruppe für Organizational Studies von Florian Kunze. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Mitarbeiterführung, der Digitalisierung in der Arbeitswelt und des demographischen Wandels.
Kilian Hampel ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Arbeitsgruppe für Organizational Studies von Florian Kunze. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die digitale Transformation der Arbeitswelt, Management des demographischen Wandels, Alter(n) am Arbeitsplatz sowie die Einführung von neuen Arbeitsformen.

Wir entwickeln und debattieren Ideen für den gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt – und bringen diejenigen zusammen, die sie in die Tat umsetzen. Unser Ziel als Think Tank: das Gelingen einer gerechten Transformation. ▸ Mehr erfahren