EU Dispute with Hungary: What’s Next?

What the EU can do to bring back a pro-European course in Hungary

Summary

In May 2019, Hungary celebrated 15 years of EU membership. However, the European Parliament believes that Hungary is in breach of EU values, thereby posing a threat to the existence of the union. The fundamental restructuring of the political system initiated by Prime Minister Viktor Orbán and his Fidesz party has had a tangible impact on the functioning of Hungarian democracy, raising concerns and criticism. How will this conflict develop – both with regard to Hungary as an EU member state and with regard to the future of the EU?

Hungary is one of the most successful “new” Member States in addition to Slovenia, Estonia or Poland. In general, Hungary seems to have handled the socio-political transformation towards democracy and market economy after 1989 well. Since 2010, Fidesz has enjoyed great approval in Hungarian society. Viktor Orbán won his third consecutive victory in 2018 and once again secured Fidesz enough seats in the National Assembly to achieve a two-thirds majority.

This means, among other things, that Fidesz can change not only laws but also the constitution of the country. In 2011, the Fidesz Party used this power to adopt and sign a new and controversial fundamental law. For this reason, the Article 7 case against Hungary was opened in September 2018, which may in the extreme case lead to the restriction of EU membership rights.

The current Fidesz government emphasises that their concerns and resistance are not targeting the European Union as such, but rather the ostensible left-liberal political elites in Brussels. In particular, the current Hungarian government is suspicious of the ideas of multiculturalism and the enforced federalism of the EU, instead advocating traditional values and a Europe of strong nation-states . In her policy paper, Maria Skora reveals what the EU can do to bring back a pro-European course in Hungary.

Author

Dr. Maria Skóra

Head of International Dialogue
About Maria Maria Skóra was the head of the International Dialogue program area of Das Progressive Zentrum. She holds a master's degree in sociology and a PhD in economics. 2018 Alumna of the Young Leaders Program of the Aspen Institute…
New Progressive Ostpolitik for Europe
The complexity of today’s situation should not discourage us from thinking bold

Content

Summary
Author

Dr. Maria Skóra

Head of International Dialogue

We develop and debate progressive ideas and bring together leading actors who turn thoughts into action. Our think tank’s goal: making the just transformation a reality. ▸ Learn more

EU-Streit mit Ungarn: Wie geht es weiter?

Was kann der EU-skeptischen Haltung in der ungarischen Gesellschaft entgegengesetzt werden, um sie wieder auf einen proeuropäischen Kurs zu führen?

Zusammenfassung

Im Mai 2019 feierte Ungarn seinen EU-Beitritt vor 15 Jahren. Das Europäische Parlament ist allerdings der Meinung, dass Ungarn gegen europäische Werte verstoße und damit die Existenz der EU bedrohe. Der von Ministerpräsident Viktor Orbán und seiner Fidesz-Partei initiierte grundlegende Umbau des politischen Systems wirkt sich auf das Funktionieren der ungarischen Demokratie aus und gibt Anlass zur Besorgnis und Kritik. Wie wird sich dieser Konflikt weiterentwickeln – sowohl in Hinblick auf Ungarn als ein Mitgliedstaat der EU als auch auf die Zukunft der gesamten Union?

Ungarn gehört neben Slowenien, Estland und Polen zu den jüngsten und erfolgreichsten EU-Mitgliedstaaten. Die gesellschaftspolitische Transformation nach 1989, hin zu Demokratie und Marktwirtschaft, schien Ungarn im Allgemeinen gut bewältigt zu haben. Seit 2010 genießt Fidesz in der ungarischen Gesellschaft große Zustimmung. Viktor Orbán gewann 2018 den dritten Sieg in Folge und verschaffte seiner Partei erneut ausreichend Sitze in der Nationalversammlung, um eine Zweidrittelmehrheit zu erreichen.

Das bedeutet unter anderem, dass Fidesz nicht nur Gesetze, sondern auch die Verfassung des Landes ändern kann. 2011 nutzte die Fidesz-Partei diese Machtfülle, um ein neues und umstrittenes Grundgesetz zu verabschieden. Aus diesem Grund wurde im September 2018 das Artikel 7-Verfahren gegen Ungarn eröffnet, welches im äußersten Fall zur Einschränkung der EU-Mitgliedsrechte führen kann.

Die aktuelle Fidesz-Regierung betont, dass ihre Bedenken und ihr Widerstand nicht gegen die Europäische Union an sich gerichtet sind, sondern sich nur auf jene Politik beziehen, die die angeblich linksliberale politische Elite in Brüssel verfolgt. Die derzeitige ungarische Regierung ist insbesondere verstärktem Föderalismus der EU gegenüber misstrauisch und plädiert stattdessen für traditionelle Werte und ein Europa starker Nationalstaaten. Maria Skóra fasst in dem Policy Paper zusammen, was der EU-skeptischen Haltung in der ungarischen Gesellschaft entgegengesetzt werden kann, um sie wieder auf einen proeuropäischen Kurs zu führen.

Autorin

Dr. Maria Skóra

Leiterin des Programmbereichs I Internationaler Dialog
Maria Skóra war Leiterin des Programmbereichs Internationaler Dialog des Progressiven Zentrums. Sie hat einen Masterabschluss in Soziologie und promovierte in Wirtschaftswissenschaften.
New Progressive Ostpolitik for Europe
Current challenges of the European foreign policy vis-à-vis Russia

Inhalt

Zusammenfassung
Autorin

Dr. Maria Skóra

Leiterin des Programmbereichs I Internationaler Dialog

Wir entwickeln und debattieren Ideen für den gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt – und bringen diejenigen zusammen, die sie in die Tat umsetzen. Unser Ziel als Think Tank: das Gelingen einer gerechten Transformation. ▸ Mehr erfahren