The Politics of Tomorrow: Visionary and Effective

As the year draws to a close, we ask what 2020 means for progressives and what 2021 will hold in store for us

Tomorrow’s policies must be both visionary and efficient to meet the challenges of the pandemic and its aftermath. Our board members Michael Miebach and Judith Siller and our executive director Dominic Schwickert explain why progressive ideas belong on the agenda right now and take an optimistic look at 2021.

Dear Friends,

Covid-19 is putting people in Germany and around the world to a stern test. Whether the healthcare system, the economy, schools, or politics: with a disruptive force, the virus is imposing a perpetual feeling of stress on all parts of society. Will it permanently change our lives? That is yet to be decided. But one thing is already certain: the pandemic is reshaping the framework for progressive politics for the years to come. It reinforces existing societal development trends and political fault lines as if in a sped-up reality.

Experts have pointed out the negative economic and social consequences of growing inequality for years. The Institute of Economic and Social Research has determined that low earners during the Coronavirus Crisis more often, and over proportionally, record income losses. In contrast, workers with middle and higher incomes are much less affected. People with immigrant backgrounds and single parents suffer, especially from employment-related restrictions. These are groups that already have a much higher rate of poverty risk. To this point, it is often the children of the poorest who are most affected by the closed schools and recreational facilities. There is no doubt about it: Corona deepens social division and threatens cohesion.

Greater urgency, less leeway

For these reasons, the political goals that progressives have been promoting for so long have now become even more important: fair pay in all lines of work. Investments for the future in education and digitalisation, to protect the climate and in the public sphere. Equal living standards between regions. Far-seeing social policies for equal opportunities. A socially fair tax policy. Ecological and sustainable economic and social transformation. Proactive integration politics. The main underlying challenge is that the sense of urgency is now more present than ever. Yet the – completely justified – newly taken on loans, financial commitments, and the foreseeable financial losses all narrow the possibility for political manoeuvring for the future. The politics of tomorrow need to be visionary and efficient at the same time.

Furthermore: Will the people be ready to move forward with the necessary transformation processes during and after the pandemic? After all, a desire for the “old life” has been arising during the corona-induced restrictions – for the familiar safety and ways of behaving, for a vacation in foreign lands, and uninhibited shopping. It is true that the Coronavirus Crisis also has a “solidifying potential” (Reinhart Koselleck).

A new progressive consensus of the majority?

On the other side, a World Economic Forum poll from September reports that most Germans (78 per cent) hope that after the pandemic, the world will “significantly change” to be more sustainable and fair. The global average is at 86 per cent. Norms and thought patterns, work models and movement behaviours may be currently changing, possibly even in such a fundamental manner that the changes could actually prove permanent. To give an example rarely has the conduct of democratic governments been met with so much approval and trust in public institutions and infrastructure, like today. Another positive effect of the pandemic could be a new consciousness of societal vulnerability and the importance of science, with which a larger acceptance of engaging climate policies could emerge. In the best case, a new progressive consensus of the majority emerges.


Further Reading: Our Blog
Corona & Society – Reflecting on the Crisis
What can society and politics learn from the crisis, both politically and conceptually?


Progressive politics can and should turn the potential of the Corona Crisis into a window of opportunity. The future is not guaranteed – chances must be seized, or they will merely be missed opportunities. Progressive actors must remain wide awake, especially now. They need to campaign for reforms, but also take the need for security seriously. Security and change are inseparable and moreover, belong together. Joe Biden and Kamala Harris winning the presidential election in the United States brings hope that we can also have a fresh start on the international level for multilateralism, climate protection, and cooperation.

Germany at a turning point

We at Das Progressive Zentrum for these reasons, despite everything, are optimistically looking forward to a politically meaningful 2021. Germany is facing six state elections and a federal election, which will mark the end of the Merkel era and signify a new chapter. As an independent think tank, we will closely follow the upcoming political campaigns. We will create room for programmatic debates, formulate a range of political frames, suggest solution-oriented policy concepts – and continue to intensively work on strengthening liberal democracy and evidence-based politics.

As we move into 2021, we can build upon a successful past year. Given the restrictions of the public and private life, we focused on the digitalisation of our work and made significant progress. In the last twelve months, we organized four international conferences, numerous events that provided a forum to some 300 speakers from Germany, Europe, and the world, collaborated with over 40 partner organisations from 15 countries, and published more than 50 studies, expert opinions, and other publications. As a whole, it was very fulfilling for us all, even when – without a doubt – we miss the good spirits of in-person events, conversations during the coffee breaks, and spontaneous encounters.

We will continue our work after the holidays, in full vigour and hopefully with many of you. Until then, we wish all of our friends a peaceful holiday season and a good start to a hopefully healthy new year.

Authors

Michael Miebach is the Chair and Co-Founder of Das Progressive Zentrum. He studied political science at the universities of Göttingen and Berlin, as well as European Social Policy at the London School of Economics. Until 2017, he served as Co-Editor-in-Chief of the magazine "Berliner Republik". He works as a policy advisor at the German national parliament "Bundestag".

Judith Siller

Second Chair
Judith Siller is the Second Chair of Das Progressive Zentrum. She studied economics at the University of Potsdam. Judith Siller lived in England, Chile and France. For many years, she has been working on the topics European Union as well as Monetary, Economic and Social Union. She serves as an editor for the magazine "polar".

Dominic Schwickert

Executive Director of Das Progressive Zentrum
Dominic Schwickert has been Executive Director of Das Progressive Zentrum since 2012. He has proven expertise in the field of political and strategic consulting. Dominic worked i.a. for Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, Bertelsmann Stiftung, IFOK GmbH, Stiftung Neue Verantwortung, German Bundestag as well as for the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.

Further articles

Recap: NUP Fellows Travel Across the United States

Our Second New Urban Progress Trip Took Our Fellows to Chicago, Denver, and Austin

Recap: New Urban Progress Explores Germany

Our first of two New Urban Progress delegation trips took our fellows to Berlin, Leipzig and the Ruhr Valley
share:

Die Politik von Morgen: Visionär und effizient

Zum Jahreswechsel fragen wir uns, was 2020 für Progressive bedeutet und was 2021 bereithält

Die Politik von morgen muss zugleich visionär und effizient sein, um die Herausforderungen der Pandemie und ihre Nachwirkungen zu meistern. Unsere Vorstandsmitglieder Michael Miebach und Judith Siller sowie unser Geschäftsführer Dominic Schwickert erläutern, warum progressive Ideen gerade jetzt auf die Agenda gehören und werfen einen optimistischen Blick auf 2021.

Covid-19 stellt die Menschen (nicht nur) in Deutschland auf eine harte Probe. Ob Gesundheitssystem, Wirtschaft, Schulen oder Politik: Mit disruptiver Kraft versetzt das Virus nahezu alle Bereiche der Gesellschaft in einen permanenten Stressmodus. Wird es unser Leben dauerhaft verändern? Das ist noch offen. Fest steht aber schon jetzt: Die Pandemie formt die Rahmenbedingungen für progressive Politik in den kommenden Jahren neu. Auch weil sie gesellschaftliche Entwicklungstrends und Bruchlinien, die schon vorher existiert haben, wie im Zeitraffer verstärkt.

So weisen Expertinnen und Experten seit Jahren auf die negativen ökonomischen und sozialen Folgen wachsender Ungleichheit hin. Nun hat das Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Institut (WSI) ermittelt, dass Geringverdienende in der Corona-Krise nicht nur häufiger, sondern auch überproportional hohe Einkommensverluste verzeichnen. Dagegen kommen Beschäftigte mit mittleren und hohen Einkommen weitgehend unbeschadet davon. Unter den beruflichen Einschränkungen leiden Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund und Alleinerziehende besonders stark – Gruppen also, die sowieso schon ein deutlich erhöhtes Armutsrisiko haben. Hinzu kommt, dass es oft die Kinder der Ärmsten sind, die von geschlossenen Schulen und Freizeiteinrichtungen am meisten betroffen sind. Es kann keinen Zweifel geben: Corona vertieft die soziale Spaltung und bedroht den Zusammenhalt.

Mehr Handlungsdruck, weniger Spielräume

Umso wichtiger werden jetzt die politischen Ziele, für die sich Progressive seit langem einsetzen: Faire Löhne in allen Branchen. Zukunftsinvestitionen in Bildung und Digitalisierung, in Klimaschutz und in öffentliche Räume. Regional gleichwertige Lebensverhältnisse. Vorsorgende Sozialpolitik für gleiche Lebenschancen. Eine sozial gerechte Steuer- und Abgabenpolitik. Ökologischer, nachhaltiger Strukturwandel. Eine offensive Integrationspolitik. Die Herausforderung dabei: Der Handlungsdruck ist größer denn je. Aber die – vollkommen zu Recht – neu aufgenommenen Kredite, finanziellen Verpflichtungsermächtigungen und die absehbaren wirtschaftlichen Einbußen beschränken die politischen Spielräume für die Zukunft. Die Politik von morgen wird visionär und zugleich effizient sein müssen.

Außerdem: Wird die Bevölkerung in und nach der Pandemie überhaupt bereit sein, die notwendigen Transformationsprozesse mitzutragen? Schließlich entsteht in der coronabedingten Eingeschränktheit gerade eine Sehnsucht nach dem „alten Leben“ – nach gewohnten Sicherheiten und Verhaltensweisen, nach Urlaub in fernen Ländern und ungehemmtem Shopping. Es stimmt, dass die Corona-Krise auch ein „Verfestigungspotenzial“ (Reinhart Koselleck) hat.

Ein neuer progressiver Mehrheitskonsens?

Auf der anderen Seite wünschen sich einer im September veröffentlichten Befragung des Weltwirtschaftsforums zufolge die meisten Deutschen (78 Prozent), dass sich die Welt nach der Pandemie „signifikant verändert“ und nachhaltiger und gerechter wird. Im globalen Durchschnitt sind es sogar 86 Prozent. Womöglich wandeln sich derzeit Normen und Denkmuster, Arbeitsmodelle und Mobilitätsverhalten so grundlegend, dass diese Veränderungen tatsächlich von Dauer sein könnten. Um ein Beispiel zu nennen: Selten war die Zustimmung zu demokratischem Regierungshandeln und das Vertrauen in die öffentlichen Institutionen und Infrastrukturen größer als heute. Ein weiterer positiver Effekt der Pandemie könnte ein neues Bewusstsein für gesellschaftliche Verletzlichkeit und die Bedeutung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse sein, wodurch eine größere Akzeptanz für eine engagiertere Klimapolitik entstehen könnte. Im besten Fall bildet sich so ein neuer progressiver Mehrheitskonsens.


Der Blog
Corona & Society: Nachdenken über die Krise
Was können Gesellschaft und Politik programmatisch-konzeptionell aus der Krise lernen?


Progressive Politik kann und sollte die Potentiale in der Corona-Krise deshalb zu einem window of opportunity machen. Die Zukunft ist kein Selbstläufer, Chancen müssen ergriffen werden – oder sie werden eben einfach liegen gelassen. Progressive Akteure müssen hellwach sein, gerade jetzt. Sie müssen für Reformen werben, aber auch das Bedürfnis nach Sicherheit ernst nehmen. Sicherheit und Veränderung gehören untrennbar zusammen. Dass Joe Biden und Kamala Harris die Präsidentschaftswahlen in den Vereinigten Staaten gewonnen haben, macht Hoffnung, dass wir auch international zu einem neuen Aufbruch für Multilateralismus, Klimaschutz und Kooperation kommen.

Deutschland vor der Zäsur

Aus diesen Gründen blickt das Progressive Zentrum trotz allem optimistisch in ein politisch bedeutsames Jahr 2021. Deutschland steht vor sechs Landtagswahlen und einer Bundestagswahl, die mit dem Ende der Ära Merkel eine Zäsur darstellt. Als unabhängiger Think-Tank werden wir die anstehenden Wahlkämpfe aufmerksam begleiten. Wir werden Räume für programmatische Debatten schaffen, Deutungsangebote formulieren, politische Lösungskonzepte vorschlagen– und weiter intensiv daran arbeiten, die liberale Demokratie und evidenzbasierte Politik zu stärken.

Dabei können wir an ein erfolgreiches Jahr anknüpfen. Die Einschränkungen des öffentlichen und privaten Lebens haben wir 2020 für einen kräftigen Digitalisierungsschub genutzt. In den vergangenen zwölf Monaten haben wir vier internationale Großkonferenzen ausgerichtet, auf zahlreichen Veranstaltungen gut 300 Rednerinnen und Rednern aus Deutschland, Europa und der Welt ein Forum geboten, mit über 40 Partnerorganisationen aus 15 Ländern zusammengearbeitet und mehr als 50 Studien, Gutachten und Debattenbeiträge veröffentlicht. Das war wunderbar, auch wenn uns – keine Frage – die Atmosphäre des direkten Miteinanders, die Gespräche in den Kaffeepausen und die spontanen Begegnungen fehlen.

Nach der Weihnachtspause geht es weiter – voller Tatkraft und im engen Schulterschluss mit Euch und Ihnen. Wir wünschen allen unseren Mitstreiterinnen und Mitstreitern eine besinnliche Weihnachtszeit und einen guten Start in ein hoffentlich gesundes neues Jahr.


Autor:innen

Michael Miebach

Mitglied des Vorstands
Michael Miebach ist Vorsitzender und Mitgründer des Progressiven Zentrums. Er studierte Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Göttingen und an der FU Berlin (Dipl.-Pol.) sowie an der London School of Economics (MSc in European Social Policy). Er war bis 2017 Leitender Redakteur der Zeitschrift „Berliner Republik“ und arbeitet heute als Referent im Deutschen Bundestag.

Judith Siller

Zweite Vorsitzende
Judith Siller ist Zweite Vorsitzende des Progressiven Zentrums. Sie hat Volkswirtschaftslehre mit sozialwissenschaftlichem Schwerpunkt an der Universität Potsdam studiert. Während ihrer Schulzeit und dem Studium hat sie jeweils ein Jahr in England, Chile und Frankreich gelebt.

Dominic Schwickert

Geschäftsführer des Progressiven Zentrums
Dominic Schwickert ist seit Ende 2012 Geschäftsführer des Progressiven Zentrums. Er hat langjährige Erfahrung in der Politik- und Strategieberatung (u.a. Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik, Bertelsmann Stiftung, IFOK GmbH, Stiftung Neue Verantwortung, Deutscher Bundestag, Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie).

Weitere Beiträge

Wie aus Ohnmacht wieder Handlungsmacht werden kann

Policy-Fellow Johannes Hillje kritisiert im "Hauptstadtbrief" die Ohnmacht des deutschen Krisendiskurses.

Mélenchons doppelte Revanche

Zur Neuformierung der politischen Lager in Frankreich
teilen: