Strategy Paper of the PGS 2020: What’s at stake – six scenarios for 2025

In ihrer Gesamtheit verdeutlichen die Szenarien die Dringlichkeit progressiven Handelns

Summary

After the Corona crisis ends, it is unlikely that our societies will completely return to the “old normality”. What are the windows of opportunities brought to us by this crisis? Authors of the Strategy Paper for the Progressive Governance Digital Summit 2020 introduce us to six possible scenarios for the year 2025.

The six scenarios for 2025 (New Golden AgeVarieties of LocalismRadical IndividualismWelfare TechnocracyNational Populism, and School Trip) are by no means predictions of the future, they are instruments that might help with imagining possible futures. They describe turning points, opportunities seized and opportunities missed. As a whole, the scenarios illustrate the urgency for progressive action. The goal was to examine the possibilities and dangers of different scenarios, and to develop robust strategies for action.

The next months will decide if progressives can be successful in winning the public argument over how to interpret the crisis and the challenges it reveals.

Progressives must set out to lead the renewal of our society out of the crisis. Towards more democracy, a new economic order and a fresh start for the multilateral project.

This will only work if we can activate and inspire the centre of society to collaborate on a worthwhile future. Progressives need to embark on leading the renewal of our society out of the crisis. This will not be possible without a network between countries, and also across party lines.

About the author

Dr. Max Neufeind is a Desk Officer at the General Policy Department of the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs. As a Policy Fellow at Das Progressive Zentrum he is in charge of the project DenkraumArbeit. Previously, Max worked as a Research Associate at the Center for Organizational and Occupational Sciences, ETH Zurich.

Together with the lead author Max Neufeind, 24 other authors contributed to this strategy paper. You can find the full list of them here.

Find out more about the PGS 2020 at its website.

Author

Dr. Max Neufeind

Policy Fellow
Max Neufeind is a Desk Officer at a federal ministry. As a Policy Fellow at Das Progressive Zentrum, he is in charge of the project DenkraumArbeit. Previously, Max worked as a Research Associate at the Center for Organizational and Occupational Sciences, ETH Zurich.

We develop and debate progressive ideas and bring together leading actors who turn thoughts into action. Our think tank’s goal: making the just transformation a reality. ▸ Learn more

What’s at stake – Unsere Gesellschaften nach Corona

Sechs Szenarien für 2025: die Dringlichkeit progressiven Handelns

Zusammenfassung

Eine vollständige Rückkehr zu einer „alten Normalität“ in der Zeit nach der Corona-Krise ist sehr unwahrscheinlich. Doch welche Möglichkeiten bietet uns diese Krise? Die VerfasserInnen dieses Strategiepapiers stellen anlässlich des „Progressive Governance Digital Summit 2020“ sechs mögliche Szenarien für das Jahr 2025 vor.

Die sechs Szenarien für 2025 (Neues Goldenes ZeitalterLokalismusRadikaler IndividualismusWohlfahrts-TechnokratieNationalpopulismus, und Klassenfahrt) sind keineswegs Prognosen, die die Zukunft hervorsagen sollen. Es handelt sich dabei vielmehr um Instrumente, die bei der Vorstellung möglicher Zukünfte helfen könnten. Sie beschreiben Wendepunkte, ergriffene und verpasste Gelegenheiten. In ihrer Gesamtheit verdeutlichen die Szenarien die Dringlichkeit progressiven Handelns. Ziel ist es, die Möglichkeiten und Gefahren der verschiedenen Szenarien zu untersuchen und robuste Handlungsstrategien zu entwickeln.

Die nächsten Monate entscheiden, ob es den Progressiven gelingt, die Deutungshoheit über die Krise und die Entwicklungen, die sich in ihr offenbaren, zu erlangen.

Progressive müssen sich aufmachen, die Erneuerung unserer Gesellschaft aus der Krise heraus anzuführen.“

Es gibt die Chance auf mehr Demokratie, eine neue Wirtschaftsordnung und einen Neustart des multilateralen Projekts. Progressive müssen sich aufmachen, die Erneuerung unserer Gesellschaft aus der Krise heraus anzuführen. Das wird nicht möglich sein ohne eine Vernetzung über Länder- und auch Parteigrenzen hinweg.

Über das Szenarienpapier

Dr. Max Neufeind fungiert als Leitautor des Szenarienpapiers, welches die Basis für Diskussionen im Rahmen des Progressive Governance Digital Summit 2020 legt. Insgesamt trugen 24 andere AutorInnen zur Veröffentlichung des Papiers bei.

Mehr Informationen zum Progressive Governance Digital Summit 2020 gibt es auf der Veranstaltungswebseite (auf Englisch).

Autor

Dr. Max Neufeind

Policy Fellow
Max Neufeind ist Referent in einem Bundesministerium. Im Progressiven Zentrum begleitete er als Policy Fellow die Projekte DenkraumArbeit und Dialogue on Europe. Aktuell unterstützt er den Programmbereich Strukturwandel.

Wir entwickeln und debattieren Ideen für den gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt – und bringen diejenigen zusammen, die sie in die Tat umsetzen. Unser Ziel als Think Tank: das Gelingen einer gerechten Transformation. ▸ Mehr erfahren