NEW URBAN PROGRESS

Developing a Future Vision for German and U.S. Cities

Developing a Future Vision for German and U.S. Cities

New Urban Progress is a transatlantic dialogue on how urban areas can be more innovative, democratic, and sustainable. By exchanging best practices and collaborating on bold solutions, young urban leaders from Germany and the United States are working on how to deliver social and economic progress while renewing the transatlantic partnership at the city level.

During the past decade, democratic institutions in Europe and the United States have faced existential challenges. The climate crisis, rising inequalities and illiberal political actors all require innovative and collaborative responses. New Urban Progress is an answer to these crises based on the idea that cities are ideal actors to face these challenges and build new bridges across the Atlantic.

Through learning from one another and thinking outside of conventional policies, young urban leaders from Germany and the United States will deliver recommendations on how urban areas can solve global challenges by strengthening local democracies.

New Urban Progress brings together 20 fellows from both sides of the Atlantic. As a group, they are strengthening transatlantic bonds between Germany and the United States with a people-oriented approach.

The fellows are organized in three working groups:

Inclusive Growth and Innovation

Economic growth alone is an insufficient measure of progress. As cities and metropolitan areas grow in the 2020s, they must intertwine local economies with social justice measures, green technologies, and fair labor practices. Inclusive innovation can play a central role by shifting the economy’s focus onto today’s challenges while also improving everyone’s wellbeing. This working group will look at how urban economies can bring justice to their communities and at the same time address some of the planet’s most pressing crises.

Networked Governance and Democracy

Democratizing the city involves identifying how decision-making is structured and how power is distributed. It also requires policies that increase innovative practices of citizen participation, especially from communities that have traditionally been excluded from public life. Inclusive networks between social, economic, and public sectors can help empower citizens. Most importantly, a city is able to bring democratic institutions and civic participation directly to its residents – this working group will examine how community-based approaches to urban democratic deficits can help build cities for all.

Sustainability and Social Mobility

It is now clear that sustainability and social mobility are intrinsically linked. Acutely, responses to record heat and storms must protect all citizens equally. Now is also the time to invest in the future: city halls should prioritize building inclusive public infrastructure and facilitating green jobs that pay fair wages. Housing, transportation, and economic opportunities can be addressed from a green lens to deliver intergenerational justice. This working group is analyzing how cities can correct past injustices while empowering future urban communities.

Strategic Lead

Diego Rivas

Project Manager

Operative Lead

Greta Lenzing

Junior Project Manager
New Urban Progress is a joint project between Das Progressive Zentrum and the Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft in Germany and the Progressive Policy Institute in the United States. It is supported by the Transatlantic Program of the Federal Republic of Germany and funded by the European Recovery Program (ERP) of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi).

A project by

Supported by

Project Publications

Empowering Cities: Financing the Climate Transformation

How can we finance the transformation to the zero carbon city?

Empowering Cities: The American Rescue Plan

How are cities using Biden’s stimulus package to drive change?

Cities as Transatlantic Changemakers

Strengthening the transatlantic alliance from the bottom up

We develop and debate progressive ideas and bring together leading actors who turn thoughts into action. Our think tank’s goal: making the just transformation a reality. ▸ Learn more

NEW URBAN PROGRESS

Ein transatlantischer Dialog über die Zukunft der Stadt

Die Zukunft der Stadt in Deutschland und den USA

New Urban Progress ist ein transatlantischer Dialog darüber, wie Städte innovativer, demokratischer und nachhaltiger werden können. Durch den Austausch bewährter Praktiken und außergewöhnlicher Lösungen arbeiten junge urbane  Vordenker:innen aus Deutschland und den USA an sozialem und wirtschaftlichem Fortschritt. Dabei erneuern sie die transatlantische Partnerschaft auf Ebene der Städte.

Im vergangenen Jahrzehnt wurden  die demokratischen Institutionen in Europa und den USA vor existenzielle Herausforderungen gestellt. Die Klimakrise, zunehmende Ungleichheit und illiberale politische Parteien erfordern innovative und kollaborative Lösungen. New Urban Progress ist eine Antwort auf diese Krisen, die auf der Idee basiert, dass Städte über ideale Voraussetzungen verfügen, um diesen  Herausforderungen zu begegnen und neue Brücken über den Atlantik zu bauen.

Junge urbane  Vordenker:innen aus den USA und Deutschland lernen voneinander und blicken gemeinsam über den Tellerrand konventioneller Politikansätze. Auf diese Weise erarbeiten sie Vorschläge, wie Städte zur Lösung globaler Probleme beitragen und Demokratien lokal stärken können.

New Urban Progress bringt 20 Fellows von beiden Seiten des Atlantiks zusammen. Gemeinsam stellen sie Menschen in den Mittelpunkt gestärkter transatlantischer Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und den USA.

Die Fellows sind in drei Arbeitsgruppen organisiert:

Inclusive Growth and Innovation

Wirtschaftliches Wachstum allein reicht als Maß für Fortschritt nicht aus. Wenn Städte und Metropolen in den 2020er-Jahren wachsen, müssen sie ihre lokale Wirtschaft mit sozialer Gerechtigkeit, grünen Technologien und fairen Arbeitsbedingungen verknüpfen. Inklusive Innovation kann eine zentrale Rolle spielen, indem sie die Aufmerksamkeit der Wirtschaft auf aktuelle Herausforderungen lenkt und dabei das Wohl aller fördert. Die Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich damit, wie urbane Ökonomien für mehr Gerechtigkeit in der lokalen Gemeinschaft sorgen und gleichzeitig einige der dringlichsten globalen Krisen adressieren können.

Networked Governance and Democracy

Um die Stadt zu demokratisieren, muss man verstehen, wie Entscheidungen gefällt werden und Macht verteilt ist. Es erfordert zudem eine Politik, die innovative Formen der Bürger:innenbeteiligung fördert, insbesondere in den Teilen der Gesellschaft, die bislang vom öffentlichen Leben ausgeschlossen waren. Inklusive Netzwerke zwischen sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und öffentlichen Sektoren können den Bürger:innen zu mehr Handlungsfähigkeit verhelfen. Stadtbewohner:innen haben so die Möglichkeit, bürgerschaftliche Partizipation unmittelbar zu erleben und sich in die demokratischen Institutionen einbringen. Die Arbeitsgruppe untersucht, wie gemeinschaftsbasierte Ansätze bestehende demokratische Defizite ausgleichen können, sodass die Stadt allen gehört. 

Sustainability and Social Mobility

Heute ist klar, dass Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Mobilität untrennbar verbunden sind. Alle Bürger:innen verdienen gleichermaßen Schutz vor Umweltgefahren wie Hitze und Stürmen. Jetzt ist der Zeitpunkt, um in die Zukunft zu investieren: Rathäuser müssen den Bau inklusiver öffentlicher Infrastruktur ebenso priorisieren wie das Entstehen grüner Jobs mit fairen Löhnen. Wenn Wohnen, Verkehr und Wirtschaftswachstum nachhaltig gedacht werden, können sie zur Gerechtigkeit zwischen den Generationen beitragen. Die Arbeitsgruppe analysiert, wie Städte bestehende Ungerechtigkeiten korrigieren und die städtische Gemeinschaft der Zukunft stärken können.

Projektleitung

Diego Rivas

Projektmanager

Operative Ansprechperson

Greta Lenzing

Junior Projektmanagerin

New Urban Progress ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von Das Progressive Zentrum und der Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft in Deutschland sowie dem Progressive Policy Institute in den Vereinigten Staaten. Es wird durch das Transatlantik-Programm der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit Mitteln des European Recovery Program (ERP) des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert.

Ein Projekt von

Gefördert durch

Projektpublikationen

Empowering Cities: Financing the Climate Transformation

How can we finance the transformation to the zero carbon city?

Empowering Cities: The American Rescue Plan

How are cities using Biden’s stimulus package to drive change?

Cities as Transatlantic Changemakers

Strengthening the transatlantic alliance from the bottom up

Wir entwickeln und debattieren Ideen für den gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt – und bringen diejenigen zusammen, die sie in die Tat umsetzen. Unser Ziel als Think Tank: das Gelingen einer gerechten Transformation. ▸ Mehr erfahren