Event

Urban Atelier Leipzig: Developing a future vision of German cities

Working towards innovative, networked and fair cities as well as metropolitan areas


How can we create inclusive, networked and fair cities of tomorrow? Discuss, debate and design with New Urban Progress this April in Leipzig!


*Due to the ongoing Corona crisis and the massive restrictions, registration for the Urban Atelier is not possible. We are currently working on an alternative solution and will inform you as soon as possible. We ask for your understanding!*

 

We believe that cities are ideally suited actors to take on the challenges of ongoing and rapid societal and technological transformation. Our project, New Urban Progress, is creating a dynamic network that expands beyond capital cities and acts as a physical and virtual platform for new ideas and bottom-up initiatives. By bringing together people of diverse backgrounds, we can become a platform for a progressive urban policy that can serve as the foundation for social mobility, cultural inclusion and a prosperous economy based on sustainability and innovation. To gather a wide array of perspectives and actors, this project will take place in Germany and the United States. And by creating prominent networks in and between the United States and Germany, we also want to rethink transatlantic relations by incorporating voices from civil society. 

 

To do so, we first need to gather your input on challenges and opportunities of German cities and metropolitan areas. You are invited to join our Urban Atelier and share your expertise and experience with us so that we can together collaborate and design impactful initiatives and public policies to make cities and metropolitan areas more inclusive for future generations. The outcomes of this afternoon will be used together with the findings from the mirroring event in Washington D.C. to set the framework for further transatlantic exchange within the project.

Visit the new website

In a transatlantic dialogue, we would like to discuss the following questions with young thinkers, political activists, politicians, a variety of experts, and journalists on both sides of the Atlantic.

 

Cities have always been drivers of economic growth – up to 80 percent of the GDP is currently generated in urban areas. For decades, economic growth has led to a growing buying power for the majority of the population, leading to wide levels of prosperity. Today, the transformation from an industrial to a knowledge-based and digital economy is especially evident in cities. Economic growth and the founding of profitable digital companies are not necessarily benefitting urban labour markets to the same extent, while at the same time jobs are disappearing. The space inhabited by the private sector is also transforming into a networked space, and the accompanying flexible organisational structures and ways of life require a corresponding return to the city.   

Cities are a creative space for societal, economic, ecological and political innovation. The quick and close exchanges between different actors enable innovation and unconventional ways of life. Companies orient themselves according to the availability of qualified workforces, while the potential employees look for attractive and diverse living conditions and urban surroundings.    

  • How can cities accommodate growth and innovation
  • How can they provide sustainable growth in GDP by integrating the workforce?  
  • Which kind of entrepreneurship can strengthen sustainable cities
  • Which role can the state play in these processes?

Diverse and sustainable networks can assist cities and metropolitan areas in tackling 21st-century challenges, such as implementing renewable energy, increasing participation in democratic processes, and expanding educational opportunities. Growing cities and metropolitan areas need active and engaged citizens to fill-out the necessary networks that govern these ever-expanding areas. Through designing more ways for citizens to get involved in local democratic procedures, cities can be made more fair, efficient and impactful.

  • How can citizens participate better in just, efficient and more effective democratic processes?
  • How can citizens participate in local democratic processes?

Cities are constantly changing – this provides a great challenge, but also a great opportunity. Urban spaces can be innovators and nuclei for sustainable solutions for the future. But how exactly should a city of the future look like, in order to raise the urban quality of life and also reduce the impacts of climate change? At the same time, cities and metropolitan areas need to provide equal opportunity to all social groups and support social mobility. This can be done through accessible and impactful public services, such as housing, higher education and vocational training, public transportation and general infrastructure. 

  • From smart cities to a circular economy: Which economic, political or societal concepts can confront ecologic challenges in a sustainable way and at the same time, foster social cohesion and social mobility?  

 


Agenda


 

The project is supported by the Transatlantic Program of the Federal Republic of Germany and funded by the European Recovery Program (ERP) of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi).

 

Learn more about the project


 

 

 





Maria Skóra


Diego Rivas


published on

2 March 2020

Veranstaltung

Urban Atelier Leipzig: Entwickeln Sie mit uns eine Vision für die Zukunft deutscher Städte

Hinarbeiten auf innovative, vernetzte und faire Städte und Ballungsräume


Wie können wir inklusive, vernetzte und faire Städte von morgen erschaffen? Diskutieren, debattieren und gestalten Sie mit New Urban Progress diesen April in Leipzig!


*Aufgrund der anhaltenden Corona-Krise und den massiven Einschränkungen ist die Anmeldung zum Urban Atelier nicht möglich. Wir arbeiten momentan an einer Alternativlösung und informieren Sie so schnell wie möglich. Wir bitten um Ihr Verständnis!*

 

Die Stadt als Labor für gesellschaftliche Phänomene: Metropolen bieten lehrreiche Einblicke und geben in den USA und Europa in lokaler- und nationaler Politik gleichermaßen mehr und mehr den Ton an. Gleichzeitig eröffnen sich in Städten mit ihrer Vielzahl von Akteuren und in ihrer räumlichen Ausprägung auch neue Gestaltungsspielräume. Städte sind der Ort, an dem die stetigen Herausforderungen sozialer und technologischer Veränderungen besonders intensiv wahr- und angenommen werden. Als eine Antwort auf diese Herausforderungen baut das Projekt New Urban Progress ein dynamisches Netzwerk auf. Jenseits der Hauptstädte bildet dieses eine physische wie auch virtuelle Plattform für neue Ideen und Initiativen. Wir bringen Menschen mit verschiedenen Hintergründen zusammen, um eine Plattform für progressiv urbane Politik entstehen zu lassen. Damit ein großes Spektrum an Perspektiven und Personen entsteht, wird das Projekt sowohl in Deutschland als auch in den USA stattfinden. Mit der Entwicklung eines dynamischen Netzwerks in und zwischen den USA und Deutschland wollen wir transatlantische Beziehungen neu denken und um eine zivilgesellschaftliche Ebene ergänzen. 

 

Um dies zu tun, möchten wir im Austausch mit Ihnen über die Aufgaben und Möglichkeiten von deutschen Städten und Metropolregionen diskutieren. Kommen Sie zu unserem Urban Atelier und teilen Sie Ihr Fachwissen und Ihre Erfahrungen mit uns. Ziel ist es, gemeinsam wirkungsvolle Initiativen und öffentlichkeitswirksame Programme zu entwerfen, um Städte und Metropolregionen für künftige Generationen gerechter zu gestalten. Die Ergebnisse dieses Nachmittags werden, zusammen mit den Erkenntnissen aus der Parallelveranstaltung in Washington D.C., den Rahmen für den weiteren transatlantischen Austausch innerhalb des Projekts bilden.

 

Wir möchten im transatlantischen Dialog mit jungen Denkerinnen und Denkern, politisch Engagierten, PolitikerInnen, ExpertInnen, JournalistInnen auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks den folgenden Fragen nachgehen:

 

Städte sind und waren stets Motor ökonomischen Wachstums – bis zu 80% des Bruttoinlandproduktes werden in Städten erarbeitet. Ökonomisches Wachstum führte Jahrzehnte lang für die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung zu steigender Kaufkraft und damit zu einem Breitenwohlstand. Heute zeigt sich in Städten der Wandel von einer industriellen in eine wissensbasierte und nunmehr digitale Ökonomie besonders stark. Denn von Wachstum und dem Entstehen von profitablen digitalen Unternehmen profitiert der Arbeitsmarkt in Städten nicht unbedingt im gleichen Maß, wie andere Arbeitsplätze verschwinden. Auch der Standortraum der Unternehmen transformiert sich stärker in Netzwerkräume, und die damit einhergehenden flexibleren Organisations- und Lebensformen benötigen eine entsprechende Rückbettung in der Stadt. 

Städte sind ein kreativer Raum für gesellschaftliche, wirtschaftliche, ökologische und politische Innovationen. Der schnelle und enge Austausch von Akteuren ermöglicht Innovation und „entstandardisierte“ Lebensstile. Unternehmen orientieren sich zunehmend an der Verfügbarkeit qualifizierter Arbeitskräfte, und qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte suchen attraktive Orte mit vielfältigen Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und urbanen Lebensbedingungen. 

  • Wie können Städte und Unternehmen Wachstum und Innovation fördern? 
  • Können sie gleichzeitig nachhaltig das BIP in Städten durch breite Erwerbsintegration gewährleisten? 
  • Durch welche Formen der Arbeit und Unternehmertums können Städte in ihrer Nachhaltigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit gestärkt werden? 
  • Welche Rolle spielt hierbei der Staat

Vielfältige und nachhaltige Netzwerke können Städte und Ballungsgebiete bei der Bewältigung der Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts unterstützen, wie z.B. bei der Einführung erneuerbarer Energien, der zunehmenden Beteiligung an demokratischen Prozessen sowie der Erweiterung von Bildungsmöglichkeiten. Wachsende Städte und Ballungsgebiete brauchen aktive und engagierte BürgerInnen, um den ständigen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden. 

  • Durch welche demokratischen Beteiligungsprozesse können Städte gerechter, effizienter und wirkungsvoller für BürgerInnen gestaltet werden?
  • Wie können BürgerInnen an lokalen demokratischen Verfahren teilhaben?

Die Stadt wandelt sich – darin liegen Herausforderungen, aber auch große Chancen. Gerade urbane Räume können Innovatoren und Keimzellen für nachhaltige Lösungen der Zukunft sein. Aber wie genaue könnte eine Stadt von morgen aussehen, die urbane Lebensqualität erhöht und Klimabelastungen reduziert? Gleichzeitig müssen Städte und Ballungsgebiete stets bemüht sein, allen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen gleiche Chancen zu bieten und soziale Mobilität zu fördern. Dies kann durch zugängliche und wirkungsvolle öffentliche Dienstleistungen und Regelungen in den Bereichen Wohnungsbau und öffentlicher Raum, Hochschul- und Berufsbildung, Mobilität und allgemeine Infrastruktur unterstützt werden. 

  • Welche Konzepte aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft, von Smart City bis zum zirkulären Wirtschaften können sich nachhaltig ökologischen Herausforderungen stellen und gleichzeitig den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt und soziale Mobilität fördern? 

 


Agenda


 

Das Projekt wurde durch das Transatlantik-Programm der Bundesrepublik Deutschland aus Mitteln des European Recovery Program (ERP) des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert.

 

Ich möchte mehr über das Projekt erfahren






Maria Skóra


Diego Rivas


published on

2. März 2020


Schlagwörter

New Urban ProgressVeranstaltung