Which new technologies does societal progress need?

 

With #Tech4Society we take a value-based approach to technological change with the goal of promoting economic, social, and ecological progress. Technological change must not be an end in itself. New technologies need to tackle the big challenges of our time, including economic and social consequences of the coronavirus pandemic, the climate crisis, tomorrow’s work, and economy, demographic changes, regional imbalances, and the increasing political polarisation in democracies. Together with a diverse consortium of partners from academia, civil society, the public and private sector, we sought to develop new and practical policy solutions in a co-innovative dialogue.

 

Policy Paper: Tech with Society

 

How can a value-based approach to technological change promote economic, social, and ecological progress? The policy paper “Tech with Society” by Daniela Blaschke and Florian Ranft is the result of the innovation series #Tech4Society and presents recommendations designed to ensure that technological change will not be an end in itself. At its launch on December 16th, 2020, we discussed the policy paper’s recommendations with Julia Borggräfe, Joanna Bryson, Rasmus Rothe und Thomas Ramge (see video).

More information

 

 


#Tech4Society Workshops

 

The starting point of the conversation and deliberation process was the fundamental question of how new technologies can work best for societal progress by taking into account the perspectives of the society, the economy, and the individual.

Economy: How can new technologies contribute to a socially and ecologically responsible economic model?

Society: How can new technologies foster social cohesion?

Individual: How can new technologies help secure individual and societal welfare?

During a series of workshops in the course of 2020, #Tech4Society dove deep into each of these dimensions. In the launch and closing event, we took a broader approach to the topic, looking into today’s value creation and the policy lessons.

 


Kick-off conference “Tomorrow’s value creation”

 

The #Tech4Society series was launched in November 2019 with a kick-off conference that shed new light on value creation and technological change in modern economies. Geoff MulganPatrizia NanzJulia KloiberStefan Profit, and Juha Leppänen discussed necessary changes in modern economies and value-creation due to innovations and their connected economic, ecological, and social costs and opportunities. 

As part of the kick-off event, the working paper “Which Tech does Society need?” was being presented. It serves as the basis for the #Tech4Society innovation series. Daniela Blaschke and Florian Ranft have chosen a three-dimensional approach, which comprises society as a whole, the economic system as well as the individual.


#Tech4Society in the media 

 

T für Transformation: Wie wir gut aus der Krise kommen

Robert D. Atkinson is convinced that economic stimulus packages for the time after the corona crisis must be transformative. The founder and president of the US think tank ITIF outlines how governments can use the current occasion to shape resilient, inclusive, and sustainable economies and societies.

Read the article

 

Digitalisierung stärkt Solidarität

The solidarity-based health care system of the future is also and above all dependent on data, say Alexander Schellinger and Nora Zetsche. They call for a strategy to accordingly further develop the solidarity principle in statutory health insurance.

Read the article (in German)

 

 

 

Tech for Fortschritt

A more aggressive competition policy alone is not enough in dealing with digital platforms. Instead, policymakers must strike a balance between governing and regulating, writes Geoff Mulgan, CEO of Nesta, in his position piece.

Read the article (in German)

 

 

 


 

The #Tech4Society Consortium

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Tech4Society Workshop “New Technologies and the Economy” with Max Neufeind, Robert D. Atkinson, Svenja Falk, and Danyal Bayaz

Welche neuen Technologien braucht gesellschaftlicher Fortschritt?

 

Mit #Tech4Society verfolgen wir einen wertebasierten Ansatz zum technologischen Wandel mit dem Ziel, wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und ökologischen Fortschritt zu fördern. Technologischer Wandel darf kein Selbstzweck sein. Neue Technologien müssen die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit angehen, darunter die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen der Coronavirus-Pandemie, die Klimakrise, die Arbeit und Wirtschaft von morgen, demografische Veränderungen, regionale Ungleichgewichte und die zunehmende politische Polarisierung in Demokratien. Gemeinsam mit einem vielfältigen Konsortium von Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft, öffentlichem und privatem Sektor haben wir versucht, in einem co-innovativen Dialog neue und praktische politische Lösungen zu entwickeln.

 

Policy Paper: Tech with Society

 

Das Policy Paper “Tech with Society” von Daniela Blaschke und Florian Ranft bildet den Abschluss der Innovationsreihe #Tech4Society und gibt politische Empfehlungen, die sicherstellen sollen, dass technologischer Wandel kein Selbstzweck ist – und dass Akteure aus Zivilgesellschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft stattdessen ein europäisches Modell der Wertschöpfung entwickeln können, das auf Co-Kreation basiert. Das Papier wurde am 16. Dezember präsentiert und die Ergebnisse mit Julia Borggräfe, Joanna Bryson, Rasmus Rothe und Thomas Ramge diskutiert (siehe Video).

Mehr Informationen (auf Englisch)

 


#Tech4Society Workshops

 

Ausgangspunkt der Reihe war die grundlegende Frage, wie neue Technologien am besten für den gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt wirken können, wenn sie die Perspektiven der Gesellschaft, der Wirtschaft und des Einzelnen berücksichtigen.

Wirtschaft: Wie können neue Technologien zu einem sozial und ökologisch verantwortlichen Wirtschaftsmodell beitragen?

Gesellschaft: Wie können neue Technologien den sozialen Zusammenhalt fördern?

Individuum: Wie können neue Technologien dazu beitragen, individuelles und gesellschaftliches Wohlergehen zu sichern?

In einer Reihe von Workshops im Laufe des Jahres 2020 ist #Tech4Society tief in jede dieser Dimensionen eingetaucht. In der Auftakt- und Abschlussveranstaltung haben wir uns dem Thema breiter genähert und die heutige Wertschöpfung sowie die politischen Lehren betrachtet.

 

Auftaktveranstaltung: Tomorrow’s value creation

 

 

Das Projekt #Tech4Society startete im Dezember 2019 mit einem Kick-Off Event mit namhaften Gästen. Über Wertschöpfung und technologischen Wandel in modernen Volkswirtschaften diskutierten Geoff Mulgan, Patrizia Nanz, Julia Kloiber, Stefan Profit und Juha Leppänen. Die Veranstaltung kann hier in voller Länge angesehen werden.

 

Im Rahmen der Auftaktveranstaltungas wurde auch das Working Paper „Which Tech does Society need?“ präsentiert. Es dient als Grundlage für die Innovationsreihe #Tech4Society. Daniela Blaschke und Florian Ranft wählen dazu einen drei-dimensionalen Ansatz, der sowohl die Gesellschaft als auch ihr Wirtschaftssystem und das Individuum umfasst.

 

Zu den Ergebnissen des Kick-Offs

 

 


#Tech4Society in den Medien 

 

T für Transformation: Wie wir gut aus der Krise kommen

Konjunkturpakete für die Zeit nach der Coronakrise müssen transformativ sein, ist Robert D. Atkinson überzeugt. Der Gründer und Präsident des US-Think-Tanks ITIF skizziert, wie Regierungen den aktuellen Anlass nutzen können, um resiliente, inklusive und nachhaltige Volkswirtschaften und Gesellschaften zu gestalten.

Zum Artikel

 

Digitalisierung stärkt Solidarität

Das solidarische Gesundheitswesen der Zukunft ist auch und vor allem auf Daten angewiesen, meinen Alexander Schellinger und Nora Zetsche. Sie fordern eine Strategie, das Solidarprinzip in der Gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung entsprechend weiter zu entwickeln.

Zum Artikel

 

 

 

Tech for Fortschritt

Eine aggressivere Wettbewerbspolitik reicht im Umgang mit digitalen Plattformen allein nicht aus. Stattdessen muss die Politik eine Balance zwischen Regieren und Regulieren finden, schreibt Geoff Mulgan, der CEO von Nesta, in seinem Standpunkt.

Zum Artikel

 

 

 

 

 


 

Das #Tech4Society Konsortium

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Tech4Society Workshop „New Technologies and the Economy“ mit Max Neufeind, Robert D. Atkinson, Svenja Falk, und Danyal Bayaz