Europe & the World

New Urban Progress Announces Sounding Board

They are: Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook, Daniel S. Hamilton, Bruce J. Katz, Amy Liu, Almut Möller, Bret Perkins, and Wolfgang Teubner


New Urban Progress is pleased to announce its Sounding Board! The team is made up of seven transatlantic and metropolitan policy professionals, who will guide the project with their expertise. New Urban Progress supports transatlantic conversations on the future of cities while rethinking transatlantic relations.


The transatlantic sounding board is comprised of seven professionals from Germany and the United States. The group of experts includes a state level German politician, researchers working at the Harvard Kennedy School, John Hopkins University and the Nowak Metro Finance Lab at Drexel University, as well as leaders in the private sector, and other transnational actors. Together, this diverse team will act as an anchor for the entire project with their transatlantic and metropolitan policy expertise.  

Visit the new website

The New Urban Progress team is happy to have the support of such a well-rounded sounding board. Their two main objectives will be to circulate the project’s content through their professional networks and assist the project with selecting its twenty fellows. Their collective expertise and direction will help mold the work and results into impactful conclusions. Additionally, their diverse networks will ensure that there is sufficient collaboration and conversation between the fellows, the project and other leading actors in working on transatlantic and metropolitan policy issues to produce meaningful transatlantic and metropolitan policy.

 

 

 

Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook

 

 

 

 

Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook is the founding Executive Director of the Future of Diplomacy Project and, since January 2018, the Executive Director of The Project on Europe and the Transatlantic Relationship at the Harvard Kennedy School (HKS). She is a German and US-American national with expert knowledge of  EU-US relations and digital public policy in urban and national contexts. She holds a B.A. from Brown University in International Relations, M.A. from London School of Economics in European Studies and a M.A. from Harvard Kennedy School in Public Administration. As an academic, amongst other honors, she was named a Truman National Security Fellow in 2011, a Munich Young Leader for the Munich Security Council in 2014, and a 2017 Eisenhower Fellow for her leadership on urban issues in international relations. [She has also served on the Board of the European Committee on Leadership in Science, Innovation and Cultural Diplomacy (EL-CSID), as well as the HKS Alumni Board of Directors.] Besides this outstanding academic track-record, Clüver Ashbrook has had a long-standing career as a journalist and a civil servant, advising foreign ministries and international organizations across the globe on questions of digital strategy and institutional reform. Next to providing expert commentary for news outlets such as CNN-international, NPR, the BBC, Frankfurter Allgemeine, ARD, Deutschlandfunk, and the Wall Street Journal, she has frequently been invited as an expert panelist by numerous organisations including the Aspen Institute, the Heinrich Böll Foundation, and the Chicago Council on Global Affairs. 

 

 

 

Daniel S. Hamilton 

 

 

 

 

Daniel S. Hamilton is currently the Austrian Marshall Plan Foundation Professor at John Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), where he co-leads the Program on “The United States, Europe and World Order” at the SAIS Foreign Policy Institute, working in partnership with the SAIS Kissinger Center for Global Affairs. He also serves as Director of the Atlantic Basin Initiative, which explores how globalization is affecting the four Atlantic continents. Hamilton has served as Founding Director of the SAIS Center for Transatlantic Relations, Executive Director of the American Consortium on EU Studies, and as a senior diplomat in the U.S. Department of State. For 40+ summers he has been Dean of Waldsee, the oldest and largest residential immersion program of German language and culture in North America, sponsored by Concordia Language Villages.

 

 

 

Bruce J. Katz

 

 

 

 

Bruce J. Katz is the Founding Director of the Nowak Metro Finance Lab at Drexel University in Philadelphia. Katz regularly advises global, national, state, regional and municipal leaders on public reforms and private innovations that advance the well-being of metropolitan areas and their countries. He graduated from Brown University, where he received his Bachelor’s Degree in 1981, and continued his education by earning his J.D. from Yale Law School. Prior to his current position, he served as inaugural Centennial Scholar at The Brookings Institution and as vice president and director of Brooking’s Metropolitan Policy Program for 20 years. He is a member of the RSA City Growth Commission in the United Kingdom and a Visiting Professor in Practice at the London School of Economics. Katz previously served as Chief of Staff to the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development and staff director of the Senate Subcommittee on Housing and Urban Affairs. Katz co-led the Obama administration’s housing and urban transition team. He is co-author of The Metropolitan Revolution and The New Localism: How Cities Can Thrive in the Age of Populism, editor or co-editor of several books on urban and metropolitan issues, and a frequent media commentator.  

 

 

 

Amy Liu 

 

 

 

 

Amy Liu is vice president and director of the Metropolitan Policy Program at Brookings and Adeline M. and Alfred I. Johnson Chair in Urban and Metropolitan Policy. She is a national expert on cities and metropolitan areas adept at translating research and insights into action on the ground. As director of the Metropolitan Policy Program, which Liu co-founded in 1996, she pioneered the program’s signature approach to state and local engagements, which uses rigorous research to inform strategies for economic growth and opportunity. Liu has worked directly on such strategies with scores of public, private, and philanthropic sector leaders in regions around the country, including Chicago, Detroit, Louisville, San Diego, and Birmingham. Liu also has extensive experience working with states and the federal government to develop policies and strategies to support cities and metropolitan areas. In 2013, Liu served as a special advisor to the U.S. Secretary of Commerce, guiding policy priorities related to trade, innovation, and data. Prior to her work at Brookings, Liu was Special Assistant to HUD Secretary Henry Cisneros and staffed the U.S. Senate Banking Committee’s subcommittee on housing and urban affairs.

 

 

 

Almut Möller

 

 

 

 

Almut Möller currently holds the position of the State Secretary and Plenipotentiary of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg to the Federation, the European Union, and for foreign affairs. She studied Political Science, Constitutional Law, and Modern and Contemporary History at the Universities of Münster, Aix-en-Provence (France) and Munich, and graduated with a Master of Arts in 2002. Between 2002 and 2008 Möller was a research associate at the Centre for Applied Policy Research (CAP) at the LMU University of Munich which included research stays at the Renmin University of China (Peking), the Al Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies (Cairo), and the American Institute for Contemporary German Studies (AICGS) at the Johns Hopkins University in Washington, D.C. She subsequently worked two years in London as an independent publicist and analyst. In 2010 Möller was appointed the Head of the Alfred von Oppenheim Center for European Policy Studies at the German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP e.V.) in Berlin. From 2015 to 2019 she was Head of the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR).

 

 

 

Bret Perkins

 

 

 

 

Bret Perkins serves as Vice President of External and Government Affairs for Comcast Corporation. He is a Business Administration graduate from Temple University and currently responsible for local government affairs, strategic partnerships with state and local intergovernmental associations, and national policy advocacy organizations. Perkins  joined Comcast in 2001 and has managed local government affairs while the Company grew from operating in 2,500 communities to 6,000 communities. Prior to joining Comcast, he served as Vice President of System Services and Assistant to the President at Mercy Health System in Pennsylvania and worked in legislative affairs at Keystone Mercy/AmeriHealth Mercy Health Plan and with the North Philadelphia Health System. In 2008, Perkins received the National Cable & Telecommunications Association’s Vanguard Award for Young Leadership, one of the cable industry’s highest honors for its next generation of leaders. Bret is a Trustee of Temple University and serves on the board of Temple University Health System.  He is a past Chair and a member of the Board of The Committee of Seventy, and a member of the boards of Visit Philadelphia, PIDC, New Deal Leaders, and the New Leaders Council.

 

 

 

Wolfgang Teubner 

 

 

 

 

Wolfgang Teubner is the ICLEI Regional Director for Europe and also the Managing Director (CEO) of the ICLEI European Secretariat. He is responsible for the strategic and economic development of the ICLEI in Europe. He has more than 25 years of professional experience working with local governments on sustainable urban development, climate adaptation and mitigation, Local Agenda21, waste management, as well as sustainable urban transport policies. During his career he has been involved in more than 150 European and international projects, including several research activities. In the period between 1994 and 1999 he coordinated the ICLEI‘s European Cities for Climate Protection Campaign and ICLEI‘s European Local Agenda 21 Guidance and Training Programme. From the start in 1994 he has been involved in the European Sustainable Cities and Towns Campaign and has participated in the drafting of the Aalborg Charta as well as the Aalborg Commitments and the 2016 Basque Declaration. Between 1999 and 2004 he has represented the Local Government sector on the European Environment and Health Committee and has been a speaker at many high-level international events including the European Council of Ministers.





Maria Skóra


Diego Rivas


published on

28 January 2020

Europa & die Welt

New Urban Progress stellt Sounding Board vor

Mitglieder: Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook, Daniel S. Hamilton, Bruce J. Katz, Amy Liu, Almut Möller, Bret Perkins, und Wolfgang Teubner


New Urban Progress freut sich darüber sein Sounding Board bekannt zugeben. Das Team besteht aus sieben Experten für transatlantische Politik und Stadtentwicklung, welche das Projekt mit Ihrer Expertise begleiten werden. New Urban Progress fördert den transatlantischen Diskurs zwischen zukunftsorientierten Städten und denkt dadurch transatlantische Beziehungen neu.


Das transatlantische Sounding Board besteht aus sieben Fachleuten aus Deutschland sowie den Vereinigten Staaten. Die Expertengruppe umfasst einen deutschen Landespolitiker, Forscher der Harvard Kennedy School, der John Hopkins University und des Nowak Metro Finance Lab der Drexel University sowie führende Persönlichkeiten aus der Privatwirtschaft und weitere transnationale Akteure. Gemeinsam wird dieses vielfältige Team mit seiner transatlantischen und Metropolitan Policy (Stadtentwicklungspolitik) Expertise als Anker für das gesamte Projekt fungieren.

Zur neuen Webseite

Das New Urban Progress Team freut sich über die Unterstützung eines so vielseitigen Sounding Boards (SB). Zwei Hauptziele des SB bestehen darin, den Inhalt des Projekts über die jeweiligen professionellen Netzwerke zu verbreiten und bei der Auswahl der zwanzig Fellows zu assistieren. Das kollektive Fachwissen und die Leitung des SB werden dazu beitragen, die Arbeit und ihre Ergebnisse zu wirkungsvollen Schlussfolgerungen zu formen. Darüber hinaus werden die vielfältigen Netzwerke des SB sicherstellen, dass es konstante Zusammenarbeit und Dialog zwischen den Fellows, dem Projekt und anderen führenden Akteuren im Bereich Metropolitan Policy gibt. 

 

 

Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook

 

 

 

 

Cathryn Clüver Ashbrook ist Gründerin und Leiterin des Projekts zu Zukunft der Diplomatie und, seit Januar 2019, Leiterin des Projekts zu Europa und die transatlantische Partnerschaft an der Harvard Kennedy School (HKS). Sie ist Deutsche und US-Amerikanerin und Expertin für EU-US Beziehungen sowie für digitale öffentliche Politik im urbanen und nationalen Kontext, was sich auch in ihrer Studienlaufbahn widerspiegelt. Sie besitzt einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Internationale Beziehungen von der Brown University, einen M.A. in European Studies von der London School of Economics und einen M.A. in Public Administration von der Harvard Kennedy School. Als Wissenschaftlerin erhielt Clüver Ashbrook bereits zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, dazu gehören Ernennungen als Truman National Security Fellow in 2011, als Munich Young Leader an der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz und als 2017 Eisenhauer Fellow für Rolle als Vorreiterin bezüglich urbaner Themen in den internationalen Beziehungen. Sie sitzt im Vorstand des European Committee on Leadership in Science, im Vorstand für Innovation and Cultural Diplomacy (EL-CSID), und an der HKS Alumni Board of Directors. Neben ihrer überragenden akademischen Laufbahn, hat Clüver Ashbrook ebenfalls eine Karriere als Journalistin und im öffentlichen Dienst hinter sich, während der sie zahlreiche ausländische Ministerien und internationale Organisationen zu Fragen über digitale Strategien sowie institutionelle Reformen beriet. Neben Beiträgen in verschiedenen Nachrichtensendern und Zeitungen wie CNN-international, NPR, BBC, Frankfurter Allgemeine, ARD, Deutschlandfunk und der Wall Street Journal trat Clüver Ashbrook auch schon häufiger als Expertin auf Panel-Events von verschiedenen Organisationen auf; u.a. des Aspen Instituts, der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung oder der Chicago Council on Global Affairs.

 

 

 

Daniel S. Hamilton 

 

 

 

 

Daniel S. Hamilton ist derzeit Austrian Marshall Plan Foundation Professor an der Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS). Dort leitet er gemeinsam mit dem SAIS Kissinger Center for Global Affairs das Programm „The United States, Europe and World Order”. Hamilton ist auch Direktor der Atlantic Basin Initiative, welche untersucht, wie sich die Globalisierung auf die vier atlantischen Kontinente auswirkt. Er war Gründungsdirektor des SAIS Zentrums für transatlantische Beziehungen, Exekutivdirektor des amerikanischen Konsortiums für EU Studien und leitender Diplomat im US Außenministerium. Über 40 Sommer lang war Hamilton Dekan von Waldsee, dem ältesten und größten Immersionsprogramm für deutsche Sprache und Kultur in Nordamerika, welches von Concordia Language Villages gesponsert wird. 

 

 

 

Bruce J. Katz

 

 

 

 

Bruce J. Katz ist Gründer und Leiter des Nowak Metro Finance Lab der Drexel University in Philadelphia. Katz ist Experte für Themen, welche das Wohlergehen urbaner Ballungsräume und deren Länder betreffen, und berät regelmäßig globale, nationale, regionale und kommunale EntscheidungsträgerInnen über öffentliche Reformen und private Innovationen.1981 machte er seinen Bachelor Abschluss an der Brown University und fuhr mit einem Jura Studium an der Yale Law School fort. Bevor er seine jetzige Stelle antrat, arbeite Katz 20 Jahre an der Brooking’s Institution als inaugural Centennial Scholar und als Vizepräsident und Leiter des Brooking’s Metropolitan Policy Programms. Er ist Mitglied der RSA City Growth Commission in Großbritannien und ein Gastprofessor an der London School of Economics. Zuvor war Katz als ‚Chief of Staff‘ das US-amerikanische Bundesministerium für Wohnen und urbane Entwicklung und als Leiter des Senatsausschusses zu Wohnen und urbanen Angelegenheiten tätig. Außerdem war er in der Leitung des Housing and Urban Transition Teams der Obama Administration. Katz ist Co-Autor zweier Titel: The Metropolitan Revolution und New Localism: How Cities Can Thrive in the Age of Populism. Er hat noch einige weitere Bücher zu urbanen und Metropol-Regionen herausgegeben und ist ein gefragter Gastredner für Medienbeiträgen zu dem Thema. 

 

 

 

Amy Liu 

 

 

 

 

Amy Liu ist Vizepräsidentin und Direktorin des Metropolitan Policy Program bei Brookings sowie des Adeline M. und Alfred I. Johnson-Lehrstuhls für Stadt- und Metropolenpolitik. Als Direktorin und Mitbegründerin des Metropolitan Policy Program, gestaltete sie den charakteristischen Ansatz des Programms maßgeblich mit. Diesen prägt die intensive Forschung an Strategien für wirtschaftliches Wachstum und Möglichkeiten. Liu hat direkt an solchen Strategien mit zahlreichen Führungskräften des öffentlichen, privaten und philanthropischen Sektors in verschiedenen Regionen der USA gearbeitet, darunter Chicago, Detroit, Louisville, San Diego und Birmingham. Liu verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Zusammenarbeit mit der US-Bundesregierung bei der Entwicklung von Strategien zur Unterstützung von Städten und Ballungsgebieten. Im Jahr 2013 war Liu als Sonderberaterin des US-Handelsministers tätig und leitete die vorrangigen Maßnahmen in Bezug auf Handel, Innovation und Daten. Vor ihrer Arbeit bei Brookings war Liu Sonderbeauftragte von HUD-Sekretär Henry Cisneros und Mitarbeiterin des Unterausschusses für Wohnungswesen und Stadtentwicklung des US-Senats

 

 

 

Almut Möller

 

 

 

 

Almut Möller ist seit Oktober 2019 Staatsrätin und Bevollmächtigte der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg beim Bund, der Europäischen Union und für auswärtige Angelegenheiten. Sie studierte Politikwissenschaft, Neuere und Neueste Geschichte und Europarecht an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität in Münster, Aix-en-Provence und München, was sie 2002 mit Master of Arts abschloss. Anschließend war sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Ludwigs-Maximilian-Universität München tätig. Es folgten Forschungsaufenthalte an der Renmin University of China (Peking), dem Al Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies (Kairo) und am American Institute for Contemporary German Studies (AICGS) an der Johns Hopkins University in Washington, D.C. Anschließend arbeitete Möller zwei Jahre als unabhängige Publizistin und Analystin in London. 2010 wurde sie zum Head of the Alfred von Oppenheim Center for European Policy Studies at the German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP e.V.) in Berlin ernannt. Zwischen 2015 und 2019 war Möller Head of the European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR).

 

 

 

Bret Perkins

 

 

 

 

Bret Perkins arbeitet bei Comcast Corporation als Vizepräsident für auswärtige Regierungs-Angelegenheiten. Er hat einen Abschluss von der Temple University in Business Administration und ist an seiner aktuellen Stelle verantwortlich für lokale Regierungsangelegenheiten, strategische Partnerschaften mit staatlichen und lokalen zwischenstaatlichen Organisationen sowie für nationale Policy Organisationen. Seit seinem Einstieg im Jahr 2001 ist Comcasts Reichweite im Management lokaler Angelegenheiten von 2000 Communities auf 6000 angewachsen.  Zuvor war er als Vizepräsident für Systemdienste und als Assistent des Präsidenten von Mercy Health System in Pennsylvania tätig und arbeitete zu legislativen Angelegenheiten bei Keystone Mercy/AmeriHealth Mercy Health Plan sowie mit North Philadelphia Health System. 2008 erhielt Perkins den “National Cable & Telecommunications Association’s Vanguard Award for Young Leadership”; eines der wichtigsten Auszeichnungen, welches die Kabelindustrie an junge Einsteigende verleiht. Perkins sitzt im Vorstand der Temple University, an der er zusätzlich im Ausschuss für das Gesundheitssystem der Universität sitzt. In der Vergangenheit diente er außerdem als Vorstandsmitglied bei The Committee of Seventy sowie als Vorstandsmitglied bei Visit Philadelphia, PIDC, New Deal Leaders und New Leaders Council. 

 

 

 

Wolfgang Teubner 

 

 

 

 

Wolfgang Teubner ist der ICLEI-Regionaldirektor für Europa und auch der Geschäftsführer (CEO) des ICLEI-Sekretariats für Europa. Er ist verantwortlich für die strategische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung von ICLEI in Europa. Teubner verfügt über mehr als 25 Jahre Berufserfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit Kommunalverwaltungen in den Bereichen nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, Klimaanpassung und Klimaschutz, lokale Agenda 21, Abfallwirtschaft sowie nachhaltige Stadtverkehrspolitik. Während seiner Karriere war er an mehr als 150 europäischen und internationalen Projekten beteiligt, darunter mehrere Forschungsaktivitäten. In der Zeit von 1994 bis 1999 koordinierte Teubner die Kampagne „European Cities for Climate Protection” von ICLEI sowie das Programm „European Local Agenda 21 Guidance and Training”.  Von Anfang 1994 an war er an der Kampagne für nachhaltige Städte in Europa beteiligt und wirkte an der Ausarbeitung der Aalborg-Charta sowie der Aalborg-Verpflichtungserklärung und der Basque Declaration 2016 mit. Zwischen 1999 und 2004 war Teubner Vertreter der lokalen Gebietskörperschaften im Europäischen Umwelt- und Gesundheitsausschuss und Redner bei vielen hochrangigen internationalen Veranstaltungen, einschließlich des Europäischen Ministerrates.





Maria Skóra


Diego Rivas


published on

28. Januar 2020


Schlagwörter

New Urban ProgressSounding Board