Europe & the World Event

Second stage of the Franco-German parliamentary dialogue

Members of the Assemblée nationale and of the Bundestag met in Berlin and in nine German constituencies


After Das Progressive Zentrum received a first delegation of the new Assemblée nationale in October 2017, the Franco-German dialogue was further deepened during the weekend. Parliamentary tandems from both countries met in the German capital on Friday, before traveling to several German constituencies.


After the consecutive renewals of the Assemblée nationale and of the Bundestag in the year 2017, Das Progressive Zentrum initiated a Franco-German parliamentary dialogue in cooperation with the Robert Bosch Stiftung and the German Federal Foreign Office. A first parliamentary delegation from France visited Berlin in October 2017, in order to better understand the German political system and to revitalise the Franco-German cooperation. The French MPs came back to Berlin on 2 March 2018, before discovering nine German constituencies, together with their German colleagues.

Thirty parliamentarians out of nine parliamentary groups

This second parliamentary meeting brought together about thirty German and French MPs of nine parliamentary groups. On the French side, four out of seven parliamentary groups were represented: La République en Marche (LREM), La France Insoumise (LFI), Les Républicains (LR) and the MoDem. On the German side, members of the SPD, the CDU, the FDP, DIE LINKE and BÜNDNIS 90/Die Grünen participated in the dialogue. All members of the French delegation were newly elected in 2017, and four of them had already taken part in the first journey in October. The German group consisted of both new and re-elected MPs.

 

Discovery of the political Berlin

After the breakfast in the German Bundestag, the French MPs accompanied their German colleagues in the plenary hall, where they followed the debate about the draft law of the AFD “German as national language” on the VIP stand. Simone Barrientos (DIE LINKE) used the opportunity to officially welcome the delegation in her speech.

Simone Barrientos’s speech on the topic “German as national language”

 
The French delegation was subsequently guided through the Reichstag building and could familiarize with the German parliamentary system. By invitation of the chairman of the Franco-German friendship group Andreas Jung (CDU), the MPs could further exchange during lunch in the German Parliamentary Society. There, they were received by Andreas Görgen, Director General of the Cultural Affairs and Communication department of the German Federal Foreign Office.  

Round table about the deepening of the parliamentary dialogue

On Friday afternoon, the MPs discussed with Claire Gloaguen and Jan Schlichting, coordinators of the Franco-German parliamentary work group dealing with the Élysée Treaty, in the office of Das Progressive Zentrum. The debates focused on the deepening of the Franco-German cooperation on the parliamentary level, and were moderated by Daniel Schade, professor and researcher of comparative politics at the University Magdeburg.

Visit of the German constituencies

The Franco-German tandems spend the Saturday in the German constituencies. Personalised programs were organized in cooperation with the constituency offices, basing on the working subjects of the respective MPs. For example, Michelle Müntefering (SPD), who was appointed Minister of State at the German Federal Foreign Office two weeks later, and her French colleague Delphine O (LREM) participated in the opening of the 25th week of women of Herne. Fabio de Masi (DIE LINKE) and Danièle Obono (LFI) discussed the new political landscape in France and the future of the left parties in Europe during a conference in Hamburg. Manuel Sarrazin (BÜNDNIS 90/Die Grünen) and Liliana Tanguy (LREM), deputy chairperson of the EU-Committee in the Assemblée nationale, as well as Rüdiger Kruse (CDU) and Marie Lebec (LREM) visited e.g. the port of Hamburg. Albert Weiler (CDU) and Aurélien Pradié (LR) visited a farm and a day-care center in Thuringia.

Despite the short duration of their visit, the French MPs could take home many experiences and best practices. The tandems discussed the further steps of the Franco-German parliamentary dialogue and the future visit of a French constituency is already planned for several members of the Bundestag. Various common projects were already launched.

Capture d’écran 2018-05-02 à 11.48.47





Lucas Matray


Event Date

2 March 2018 - 3 March 2018

Europa & die Welt Veranstaltung

Zweite Phase des deutsch-französischen ParlamentarierInnendialogs

Abgeordnete der Assemblée nationale und des Bundestags treffen sich in Berlin und in neun deutschen Wahlkreisen


Nachdem Das Progressive Zentrum im Oktober 2017 in Berlin eine erste Delegation aus der neuen Assemblée nationale empfangen hatte, wurde am Wochenende der deutsch-französische Dialog noch weiter vertieft. Parlamentarische Tandems aus beiden Ländern trafen sich am Freitag in der deutschen Hauptstadt und reisten am folgenden Tag in mehrere deutsche Wahlkreise.


Nach den aufeinanderfolgenden Erneuerungen der Assemblée nationale und des Bundestags im Jahr 2017 initiierte Das Progressive Zentrum einen deutsch-französischen ParlamentarierInnendialog in Zusammenarbeit mit der Robert Bosch Stiftung und dem Auswärtigen Amt. Eine erste parlamentarische Delegation aus Frankreich besuchte Berlin im Oktober 2017, um das deutsche politische System zu entschlüsseln und die deutsch-französische Kooperation wiederzubeleben. Die französischen Abgeordneten kehrten am 2. März zurück nach Berlin, bevor sie mit ihren deutschen Kollegen neun deutsche Wahlkreise entdeckten.

Dreißig ParlamentarierInnen aus neun Fraktionen

Dieses zweite parlamentarische Treffen brachte etwa dreißig deutsche und französische Abgeordnete aus insgesamt neun Fraktionen zusammen. Auf der französischen Seite waren vier der sieben parlamentarischen Gruppen vertreten: La République en Marche (LREM), La France Insoumise (LFI), Les Républicains (LR) und der MoDem. Auf der deutschen Seite nahmen Mitglieder der SPD, der CDU, der FDP, der LINKEN und von BÜNDNIS 90/Die Grünen an dem Dialog teil. Alle Mitglieder der französische Delegation wurden 2017 neu gewählt und vier waren schon bei der ersten Reise dabei. Die deutsche Gruppe bestand hingegen aus sowohl neu-, als auch wiedergewählten ParlamentarierInnen.

Entdeckung des politischen Berlins

Nach dem gemeinsamen Frühstück im deutschen Bundestag begleiteten die Franzosen ihre deutschen KollegInnen in den Plenarsaal, wo sie auf der Ehrentribüne die Debatte über den Gesetzentwurf der AfD “Deutsch als Landessprache” verfolgten. Simone Barrientos (DIE LINKE) nutzte die Gelegenheit, um die Delegation in ihrer Rede offiziell zu begrüßen.

 

Rede von Simone Barrientos zum Thema „Deutsch als Landessprache“

 

Die französischen ParlamentarierInnen wurden anschließend durch das Reichstagsgebäude geführt und konnten sich mit dem deutschen parlamentarischen System vertraut machen. Auf Einladung des Vorsitzenden der deutsch-französischen Parlamentariergruppe Andreas Jung (CDU), konnten sich die Abgeordneten beim Mittagessen in der Deutschen Parlamentarischen Gesellschaft weiter austauschen. Dort wurden Sie von Andreas Görgen, Generaldirektor für die Abteilung Kultur und Kommunikation des Auswärtigen Amts, empfangen.

 

 

Diskussionsrunde zur Vertiefung des parlamentarischen Dialogs

Am Freitag Nachmittag diskutierten die Abgeordneten in den Räumlichkeiten des Progressiven Zentrums mit Claire Gloaguen und Jan Schlichting, Koordinatoren der deutsch-französischen parlamentarischen Arbeitsgruppe zum Élysée-Vertrag im Bundestag. Die Debatten konzentrierten sich auf die Vertiefung der deutsch-französischen Zusammenarbeit auf parlamentarischer Ebene und wurden von Daniel Schade, Professor und Forscher in vergleichender Politik an der Universität Magdeburg, moderiert.

Besuch in den deutschen Wahlkreisen

Den Samstag verbrachten die deutsch-französischen Tandems in den deutschen Wahlkreisen. Personalisierte Programme wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit den Wahlkreisbüros organisiert, in Bezug auf die Arbeitsthemen der jeweiligen Abgeordneten. So nahmen zum Beispiel Michelle Müntefering (SPD), die zwei Wochen später als Staatsministerin beim Bundesministerium des Auswärtigen ernannt wurde, und ihre französische Kollegin Delphine O (LREM) an der Eröffnung der 25. Frauenwoche von Herne teil. Fabio De Masi (DIE LINKE) und Danièle Obono (LFI) diskutierten bei einer Konferenz in Hamburg die neue politische Landschaft in Frankreich und die Zukunft der linken Parteien in Europa. Manuel Sarrazin (BÜNDNIS 90/Die Grünen) und Liliana Tanguy (LREM), stellvertretende Vorsitzende des EU-Ausschusses in der Assemblée nationale, sowie Rüdiger Kruse (CDU) und Marie Lebec (LREM) besichtigten u.A. den Hamburger Hafen. Albert Weiler (CDU) und Aurélien Pradié (LR) besuchten eine Agrargemeinschaft und eine KITA in Thüringen.

Trotz der kurzen Dauer ihres Besuchs konnten die französischen Abgeordneten viele Erlebnisse und Best Practices mit nach Hause nehmen. Die Tandems besprachen auch die weiteren Schritte des deutsch-französischen ParlamentarierInnendialogs und der künftige Besuch eines französischen Wahlkreises ist für viele Mitglieder des Bundestags schon vorgesehen. Mehrere gemeinsame Projekte laufen bereits.

 

 

Capture d’écran 2018-04-10 à 14.42.12





Lucas Matray


Datum der Veranstaltung

2. März 2018 - 3. März 2018


Schlagwörter

Assemblée nationaleBundestagDialogEuropa & die WeltFrankreich