Europe & the World Event

The Politics of Eternity vs. The Future of European Democracy

Dinner Discussion on “The Road to Unfreedom” with Timothy Snyder


The Berlin political scene met with Timothy Snyder, one of the leading American historians and public intellectuals. It was an occasion to talk about his latest book, “Road to Unfreedom” and its possible implications for political practice. The event was co-organised by The German Marshall Fund of the United States and Das Progressive Zentrum.


Timothy Snyder is  Richard C. Levin Professor of History at Yale University and a Permanent Fellow at the Institute for Human Sciences in Vienna. He held fellowships in Paris, at Harvard University as well as taught at the College of Europe in Warsaw, Université Libre de Bruxelles, London School of Economics, Stanford University. His work on the history of Central and Eastern Europe and the Holocaust has gained him international attention and recognition.

However, in his recent works, Timothy Snyder focuses more on the current state of affairs than history: the rise of populism and emerging illiberal tendencies in contemporary democracies. In particular, since the establishment of Donald Trump’s administration, a growing concern about the future of his country of origin, the United States, has become more pronounced. Apart from that, he also addresses developments in other parts of the world, like the emergence of Putin’s Russia or the unprecedented Brexit decision.

It is in that spirit that he published “On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century” in 2017, a book presenting in a compact however illustrative way how European democracies succumbed to authoritarian regimes. The publication was an attempt to sensitise citizens against obedience without reflection towards rising regimes, like fascism, Nazism, or communism. In “The Road to Unfreedom: Russia, Europe, America“ that followed in 2018, Snyder continued his analysis of the rise of authoritarianism in the modern world, exposing recent threats to democracy and law, like cyberwars, inequalities, and nationalism.

During the dinner with young politically engaged Berliners, the crisis of the European Union was most eagerly discussed, in the run-up to the coming EU elections in May 2019. The concept of Politics of Eternity was often recalled, placing one nation at the center of a cyclical story as well as the inability of the European Union to prosper if founded on memory and the past only, not the future. Last but not least, the yet not entirely foreseeable role of China in Europe was discussed, in the context of the One Belt One Road Initiative.

The event was co-organised by Das Progressive Zentrum and The German Marshall Fund of the United States. It hosted young journalists, activists, researchers and politicians representing a broad spectrum of German party landscape.





Maria Skóra


Marie-Louise Schlutius


Event Date

10 January 2019

Europa & die Welt Veranstaltung

Die Politik der Ewigkeit vs. Die Zukunft der europäischen Demokratie

Abendessen und Gespräch zum Thema "The Road to Unfreedom" mit Timothy Snyder


Die Berliner Politikszene traf sich mit Timothy Snyder, einem der führenden amerikanischen Historiker und öffentlichen Intellektuellen. Es war eine Gelegenheit, über sein neuestes Buch „Road to Unfreedom“ und dessen mögliche Auswirkungen auf die politische Praxis zu sprechen. Die Veranstaltung wurde gemeinsam vom German Marshall Fund of the United States und Das Progressive Zentrum organisiert.


Timothy Snyder ist Richard C. Levin Professor für Geschichte an der Yale University und ständiger Fellow am Institut für Humanwissenschaften in Wien. Er war Stipendiat in Paris, an der Harvard University sowie Dozent am College of Europe in Warschau, der Université Libre de Bruxelles, der London School of Economics, der Stanford University. Seine Arbeit über die Geschichte Mittel- und Osteuropas und den Holocaust hat ihm internationale Aufmerksamkeit und Anerkennung verschafft.

In seinen jüngsten Arbeiten konzentriert sich Timothy Snyder jedoch mehr auf Aktuelles, als auf die Geschichte: den Aufstieg des Populismus und aufkommende illiberale Tendenzen in zeitgenössischen Demokratien. Insbesondere seit dem Regierungsantritt von Donald Trump hat sich die Sorge um die Zukunft seines Herkunftslandes, der Vereinigten Staaten, verstärkt. Darüber hinaus befasst er sich auch mit Entwicklungen in anderen Teilen der Welt, wie der Entstehung von Putins Russland oder der beispiellosen Brexit-Entscheidung.

In diesem Sinne veröffentlichte er 2017 „On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century„, ein Buch, das auf kompakte und anschauliche Weise zeigt, wie europäische Demokratien autoritären Regimen erlagen. Die Veröffentlichung war ein Versuch, die BürgerInnen zu sensibilisieren, ohne über aufkommende Regime wie Faschismus, Nazismus oder Kommunismus nachzudenken. In „“The Road to Unfreedom: Russia, Europe, America“, setzte Snyder seine Analyse des Aufstiegs des Autoritarismus in der modernen Welt fort und setzte die jüngsten Bedrohungen von Demokratie und Recht wie Cyberwars, Ungleichheiten und Nationalismus frei.

Beim Abendessen mit jungen politisch engagierten Berlinern wurde die Krise der Europäischen Union im Vorfeld der kommenden EU-Wahlen im Mai 2019 am heftigsten diskutiert. Das Konzept der Politik der Ewigkeit wurde oft in Erinnerung gerufen, indem eine Nation in den Mittelpunkt einer zyklischen Geschichte gestellt wurde, ebenso wie die Unfähigkeit der Europäischen Union, zu gedeihen, wenn sie nur auf der Erinnerung und  Vergangenheit, nicht aber der Zukunft beruht. Nicht zuletzt wurde im Rahmen der One Belt One Road Initiative die noch nicht ganz absehbare Rolle Chinas in Europa diskutiert.

Die Veranstaltung wurde gemeinsam vonDas Progressive Zentrum und demThe German Marshall Fund of the United States organisiert.





Maria Skóra


Marie-Louise Schlutius


Event Date

10. Januar 2019


Schlagwörter

DemocracyEuropePopulism